MY THOUGHTS ON THE SUBJECT ARE AS FOLLOWS

My truth. My life.

Yeah, I don’t bake…

In culinary school I learned a valuable lesson in baking.

It tasted good, but looked awful.

Chef would say “You have a 60-40 chance of it tasting good, 100% chance it will look inedible.”.

Andy Rooney created something called “The 50-50-90 rule: anytime you have a 50-50 chance of getting something right, there’s a 90% probability you’ll get it wrong.” We want you to give us your own probability equation. Use whichever numbers suit you, and make it about whatever you like, but give us something to think about. In 33 words, of course. Good luck! And we will see you back here on Monday for our Anniversary Challenge!

Single Post Navigation

21 thoughts on “Yeah, I don’t bake…

  1. This is why we have our teenager, who, when she puts down her phone, can bake like a Food Network star.

  2. But the taste is everything, right? I’d say you were a success! 🙂

  3. Ha ha 🙂 Loved the theory 🙂

  4. My daughter has always been the baker in the family (takes after my mom). I love to cook, not bake and for the reason that I will eat absolutely anything that’s sweet and some may never make it out of the dough stage! Baking is so precise. I am not precise about that kind of thing.

  5. This has happened to me many times. It tastes good but looks terrible. Interestingly it does seem to matter. No one wants to eat it if it looks bad. But then I don’t have any kids in the house in which case that would probably not be true. I like this take on the prompt.

  6. I like how you applied the prompt to baking! We’re not supposed to judge a book by its covers, so we can’t judge a baked goods by its looks! 🙂

  7. Interesting theory. If baking were o be judged by looks and tastes, I would end up scoring 50% in either case. Guess, you are still doing better.

  8. must have been using oysters..

  9. Draug419 on said:

    In my case, it is inedible more than half the time no matter how good or bad it looks xD That’s why I stick to very specific recipes or boxed things (:

  10. It’s as if you are in my kitchen.

  11. With a 60/40 chance of it tasting good, odds are in your favor. Here’s to dining blindfolded or by candlelight 🙂

Leave a comment