MY THOUGHTS ON THE SUBJECT ARE AS FOLLOWS

My truth. My life.

Silent Auction

images456456456

No matter how hard I try to get excited about our town’s annual “Love me tender” man auction, it just wasn’t happening.  Every year the town ladies spend hundreds of dollars on dresses and hair extensions so they can spend hundreds more bidding on the men folk to claim as theirs for the night.  At one time, I looked forward to these nights.

As I was pulling my dress on I caught a glimpse of my reflection in the mirror.  I’m not ugly, but I’m nowhere near the “sexy lady”  mark either.  I have some curves in places that curves shouldn’t be, but I think they give me character.  However, there was one important thing missing that was keeping me from a perfect night with my perfect man.  I’m not Hannah.  Hannah, my best friend, has decided that she would be a better fit with Jason than I would.  As always, I let her have her way.  If she thought for a moment that I was going against her she would use craft and deceit to make sure I fell one dollar short.

As I expected every woman in town showed up dressed to the nines.  I found my way to a table in the back and sipped my champagne while everyone was racing around, entering their “silent” bids and guessing about who was going to win who.  By the time all the bids were in and verified I was ready to call it a night.  I said a few goodbyes as the announcer made his way to the stage.  I watched Jason follow close behind as the first guy of the night.  I turned to leave as the announcer called out the highest bidder is “Kaylee”.   Wait? That’s me.  How?  Before I realized what was going on I felt Jason slide his arm through mine and say “When I heard that you didn’t bid, I decided to help you out.”

It was at that moment that I felt my heart beat again.

*****************************************

For Trifecta

Single Post Navigation

39 thoughts on “Silent Auction

  1. Aaaaah! Ain’t love grand!? Beautiful story with a heartwarming ending.

  2. pratibha on said:

    How fortunate for the protagonist. 🙂

  3. I like the turn at the end and how you used the final line. This felt real

  4. Finally, a man that can spot a good woman…I loved it

  5. Gotta’ love that Jason! 😉

  6. That is really lovely.

  7. Normally I don’t condone breaking rules, but in this case, whoo-hoo! Way to stick it to Hannah (who is a jerk of a friend, by the way :)) (Ask me what I really think!)

  8. Draug419 on said:

    This is so sweet!

  9. A really sweet ending.

  10. Oooooh! I loved this piece! And I love it when the curvy girl wins:)

  11. Deana,no one does a romance better than you my friend!Just loved it and the ending was the icing on the already sumptuous cake:-)

  12. Always good to see a girl get her heartbeat back!

  13. CherryPickens on said:

    The story brought a tear to my eye, and I had to swallow before I could speak. I love a good romance, even if prefer not to write them that way; I’m glad there’s someone who still believes.

  14. oh, how sweet. 🙂 I love how the story turned.

  15. Awww….such a great story.

  16. Nooooo! That can’t be the end. I have to know Hannah’s reaction and what happens with Jason. Great job crafting a believable protagonist and making me care about the rest of her story. Sequel, please. 🙂

  17. Hey that’s cheating-she has to bid! Very smooth! Very nice, and interesting story…is she THAT innocent that she gets the man to bid for himself to be with her without her knowing? What a gal!

  18. Adorable, be interesting to see the repercussions from Hannah…

  19. I liked this a lot, good read!

  20. That was great story-telling and twist in the end.

    Seeing the undercurrents with Hannah, I remain curious to know how she fared.

    Shakti

Leave a Reply

