MY THOUGHTS ON THE SUBJECT ARE AS FOLLOWS

My truth. My life.

a new idea

Trifecta is celebrating their 1 year anniversary.  I am so thankful that I have been given the chance to collaborate with my husband Lance for this post.  He wrote the first half and I wrote the 2nd.  Enjoy!

Part 1:

Charts and optimal dates and preferential temperatures. One line or two. As if she could summon whatever it is that makes up the human soul as easily as she could a cab on a busy New York avenue.

Lorna Meade pressed redial on her iPhone with her left hand and stepped onto the pavement, waving her right hand. A black and yellow sedan blew his horn and stopped within a foot of her scuffed red Anne Kleins. Tears welled in her blue eyes as her intended, answered.

“Naomi, baby, they said no. The honeymoon is booked but there’s no place that will marry us.

The cab driver offered no empathy to Lorna. He screamed from his driver’s side window.

“If you want a ride, lady, get in now!”

Lorna glared at him then walked to the cab’s door.

Heres mine:

“Naomi, Calm down.  I’ll be right there.”  She hung up the phone and sputtered out directions.

The cab ride seemed to take longer than usual.  It didn’t help matters that the looks she was getting from the driver ranged from “disgusting” to “I’d like to join in”.

Pulling up to the their loft she found Naomi waiting with a look of despair.

“Everyone’s right, maybe we should we just call this off.”  Naomi’s words stunned her.

A skydiving flier gusted by Lorna’s foot.

“Naomi, you promised me the moon and stars.  It’s only fitting we get married in the sky.”

Single Post Navigation

24 thoughts on “a new idea

  1. this was great. I can’e believe we pulled this off. Happy almost anniversary, baby.

  2. Ok. You sucked me in. Big time! Nice job.

  3. Married in the sky…perfect! 🙂 You guys did a great job. So, did you write out the whole story together? Or did Lance write his part and then you wrote what inspired you from that? This partner writing was a lot of fun!

  4. Married in the sky – that’s a great one. Great work – blending the two parts and giving it a befitting finish.

  5. Draug419 on said:

    So I am dumb. I thought some of the dialog was a husband calling his wife the wrong name and her getting mad realizing he was cheating…I’m glad what’s really going on is much sweeter ❤ Great joint piece!!!

  6. Great solution! I hope the skydive wedding works out for them.

  7. Nice job, I love the idea of them being married in the sky! You two definitely write well together!

  8. so, will you and Lance celebrate your anniversary in the sky ? 🙂 Nicely done, you two. And, happy anniversary week!!

  9. This is awesome … great going 🙂

  10. Happy Anniversary . . . lovely twist!

  11. I like that you two went non-traditional with this piece. You should write together more often.

  12. If I didn’t have Lance telling me to go back and re-read for interpretation, I wouldn’t have “got” the whole shebang! Loved the turn her! Loved your comment about the cab driver. Happy Anniversary to you two!

  13. Happy “almost” anniversary. What a nice tribute. Congratulations.

  14. Happy Anniversary!!! Great job with the prompt. Very romantic to take it to the sky. Thanks so much for helping us celebrate our first year. We love having you on board.

  15. Oh WOW. Now THAT is original! Great job. You two make an awesome team 😉

Leave a Reply

