MY THOUGHTS ON THE SUBJECT ARE AS FOLLOWS

My truth. My life.

1989: The Beginning

Mom and Dad.  This was taken after he got sick.

Mom and Dad. This was taken after he got sick.

I wanted to love him yet

I was scared that he would

not return my feelings.

Today I learned a life lesson.

Blood is not thicker than water.

Today, you became my dad.

*******************************************

**

**

It Has been 1 year 6 months and 7 days since I lost my dad.

For Trifecta:

This weekend’s Trifextra comes to us courtesy of MOV, who
often emails us with suggestions for site improvement or potential prompts.
Most recently, she told us about Travel and Leisure magazine’s “Super Short Travel Stories” competition, thinking that we
could recreate the same challenge on our site.  We love the idea, but borrowing
it outright feels a bit shady, so we’re going to add our own twist to it.  This
weekend, we want you to give us a 33-word time travel story.  We don’t
usually tell you what to title your piece, but we’d love it if you could title
it with the year/date that you choose.

Single Post Navigation

36 thoughts on “1989: The Beginning

  1. Beautiful. I miss him too. Too many tears for more words.

  2. Ohhhhhh! I am so very sorry. Loss of a parent (the one who became your dad) is so difficult. We lost my husband’s father this summer. I can imagine how much you miss him. This is so touching!!!

  3. Tragic. But beautifully said.

  4. I know the feeling… with my mother. Wow, only a year and a half ago. So sad. Beautifully said. I love the line, blood is not thicker than water… so very true.

  5. Aw, Deana, this is so sad and so lovely at the same time. That picture of your mom and dad is wonderful – they look so happy together. 🙂

  6. Oh, Deana. I’m so sorry for your loss. What a beautiful tribute to your dad. Thanks for linking up.

  7. Lovely piece of writing. It reminds me of my own mistakes and regrets.

  8. I see hope in this, I think.

    Thank you for the follow. Please, comment!

  9. Beautiful tribute to your dad. Always hard when a love one is lost.

  10. Glad to see you writing again. Very sorry to hear about your dad. Beautiful photo you shared and very loving words. I often wonder if that’s how my oldest felt about her step dad. He’s been in her life 8 years but it wasn’t until sometime last year that she finally started showing him affection rather than what seemed to me, contempt. Lovely writing. hugs.

  11. I can’t imagine your sense of loss. I’m thankful to still have both of my parents (though with their smoking, their health could be better….)

  12. That is beautifully sad!

  13. Well said, Deana. A beautiful tribute to the man who chose to be your dad.

  14. 1 year, 7 months, 8 days since I lost mine.

  15. Beautifully sad, Deana

  16. So sorry for your loss, Deana. This is a lovely tribute.
    I know how my older daughter struggled with her love for her step-dad. The love always ends up coming through! And I’m a firm believer in dads becoming dads.

Leave a Reply

