MY THOUGHTS ON THE SUBJECT ARE AS FOLLOWS

My truth. My life.

Collision

imagesCA46ZLV2

It’s not wise to continue to allow my hopes and dreams to entwine.

*

I find myself lingering over thoughts of what my life should be and

yearning for the feel of the life that I deserve.

These thoughts are just rainbow disguised dreams.

Dreams that will obviously never be my reality.

*

So I must turn to hope.

My hope is what will pull me through day after day.

Hope helps me see the break in this reality that surrounds me.

Hope will pull the laughter out of my despair.

It will allow me to believe that the light at the end of the tunnel is near.

It is this hope that will allow me to dream.

*

My hopes and my dreams collide.

*******************************************

For Trifecta:

And now, the weekly prompt.  Keep in mind that we are looking for the third definition, as always.  If you’re writing about colors in the sky you’re going down the wrong road.  Good luck!

Remember:
  • Your response must be between 33 and 333 words.
  • You must use the 3rd definition of the given word in your post.
  • The word itself needs to be included in your response.
  • You may not use a variation of the word; it needs to be exactly as stated above.
  • Only one entry per writer.
  • If your post doesn’t meet our requirements, please leave your link in the comments section, not in the linkz.
  • Trifecta is open to everyone. Please join us.
1
:  an arc or circle that exhibits in concentric bands the colors of the spectrum and that is formed opposite the sun by the refraction and reflection of the sun’s rays in raindrops, spray, or mist
2

:  a multicolored array

:  a wide assortment or range <a rainbow of flavors>

This week’s word is rainbow.

Single Post Navigation

40 thoughts on “Collision

  1. I love that 🙂

  2. That sounds a little sad. But very well written.

  3. Love how this was written

  4. I like how you used the word. I hope Trifecta sees the brilliance. Good picture. It adds to the impact.

  5. I felt a little melancholy reading this, but there was also a strong sense of promise.

  6. I too read this as a bit sad. But I suppose there really is some happiness to be found by looking at things through a realist’s eyes. It’s the old adage “keep your feet on the ground and you head in the clouds”.

  7. It is indeed hope that allows us to dream and believe in the future when the present doesn’t seem bearable,,, It was a very insightful post…. Diane

  8. It feels hopeful to me. Love when my hopes and dreams collide! Beautifully done.

  9. I love when hopes and dreams collide. Beautiful piece of writing. 🙂

  10. I think you followed the instructions well. You built the hope from despair. Nice job.

  11. In the beginning, I got the sense of sadness, or even feeling trapped, but in the end, I felt free. I like the last line where hopes and dreams collide…who couldn’t find the promise in that? 🙂

  12. This felt very familiar to me, in a sweetly melancholic way. Hopefully at least some of your hopes and dreams get together in permanent ways.

  13. Where there is hope – there are smiles 🙂
    May you find lots of smiles at the end of your rainbow!

  14. Draug419 on said:

    It’s so good to have you back, Deana! Your writing is as lovely as ever.

  15. KymmInBarcelona on said:

    Where hopes and dreams collide… the wreckage should be a rainbow!
    And, Hey!

  16. I’m crossing my fingers for her. Thanks for linking up!

  17. Such a range of emotions in this. I like the realistic view and that it ends on a positive note.

  18. Hi Deana:-)Great to see you back-missed your writing:-)This is what I love-simply divine-you wrote what I feel “Hope will pull the laughter out of my despair.”So true!Bravo for another amazing piece!

  19. Pingback: The Illusion Called Reality « A Shade Of Pen

Leave a Reply

