MY THOUGHTS ON THE SUBJECT ARE AS FOLLOWS

My truth. My life.

And then it all changes

1173688_24482522res

 

An exciting beginning

Full of hope and promise

School spirit and beaming with pride

Football games and pep rally’s

Enough good times to outweigh the

Algebra and biology

*

Best friends and parties

Cute boys and dancing

Wait….

Funny tasting punch

Heavy eyes and blackness

*

He said I wanted it and that I didn’t say no

I don’t remember saying yes

A broken soul and a shattered heart

The view that once filled me with joy

now suffocates my insides and

reminds me of my annihilated future.

*********************************************************

This is done for Picture it & Write

I (Ermisenda) need to communicate and express my utter disappointment in our world at the moment with these terrible events. Slut-shaming is NOT okay, victim-blaming is NOT okay. The only REASON for rape is the RAPIST. Not clothes, not alcohol, not the way you talk, or the way you act.

I urge people to join in, comment with your paragraph of fiction to accompany the image. It doesn’t have to follow my story or reflect the same themes. It can be a poem or in a different language (provide a translation please :) ). Anyone who wants to join in, is welcome. This photograph will be reblogged under Ermisenda on tumblr and added to the Picture it & Write gallery on Facebook and Pinterest.

pictureitandwrite2copy-1

Single Post Navigation

25 thoughts on “And then it all changes

  1. Lance on said:

    This is a must write. This was powerful and courageous.

  2. Powerful, Deana…..

  3. Very good piece Deana. How our perception of things can change so quickly. Nicely done!

  4. ‘Funny tasting punch’ – alas not so funny – but a brilliant line. Powerfully penned Bo.

  5. Love ♥ this is great my sweet friend!! XO~

  6. Wow. I love how sudden the change of tone was. From party-times to a nightmare. That’s often how survivors of sexual assault describe the events. A great poem. I only hope that she doesn’t see her future annihilated, that she sees herself as a survivor. She can still have a bright future despite the despicable actions of others. Thanks for contributing this week at Picture it & write and sharing your view, through poetry, on the subject matter! 🙂

    – Ermisenda

  7. An excellent piece that captures the reality of recent events.

  8. In view of a very recent sad event in Canada….this was very real!…Diane

  9. That dastardly act steals everything from a person. You wrote beautifully about it. 🙂

  10. 😦 Sad and all too real

  11. very powerful writing. a roller-coaster of emotions, i was smiling while reading the first few lines and then….. wonderfully done.

  12. I love the hourglass you created in the middle stanza, Deana! It’s like the happiness is draining out of the poem as you read. Very creative!

Leave a Reply

