MY THOUGHTS ON THE SUBJECT ARE AS FOLLOWS

My truth. My life.

I never imagined…

prompt3-300x199

It was impossible to know what had happened. No one would have believed it would happen again.

Last year my husband and I decided that it was time for a change.  Our children were out of the house and building families of their own.  We sold everything that we owned and moved to a small town named Chugwater, Wyoming. Population 213.  We purchased a farm that had been abandoned for 80 years .  We were told that it needed a lot of work, that’s why it was still on the market.  It was perfect.  A fixer up was just what we were looking for.

The town welcomed us.  I had never seen such generosity.  Every time we would drive into town they would give us a cake, pie or something else they had made for us.

“Edna, If they made all of these nice things for us, Why do you suppose they didn’t bring it to our farm?”  My husband asked me one day.  That was a very good question.  The farm renovation was almost finished so we decided to have a cookout.  I thought it would be a terrific way to get to know everyone and maybe find out if we were being paranoid about people avoiding our home.

The invitations went out in the mail early the next morning.  The following day the regrets started pouring in.  I was devastated.  After the 15th excuse, I avoided the phone.   I waited as long as I could before I had to make a trip to town.

My first stop was the library.  I decided to check out some books on vegetable gardens.  I was hoping to get my squash started soon.  The librarian, Fran,  was an older lady who was quick to offer her help.

“I’m so glad you bought the old smith farm.  I thought that old place would stay empty for ever.”

“I don’t understand why no one has snatched it up.  It’s beautiful land.”

“You don’t know, do you?  I’ve said too much.”

I turned to ask her what she meant and she quickly scurried off into the back room.  Frustrated, I decided to do a little research.  After all, the library was the perfect place for that.  I found nothing.  On my way out I saw Fran watching me through a cracked door.

Rushing home, I went straight to my computer.  Something had happened here, and I was going to find it.

When my husband arrived home from work he found me sitting quietly in the dark.

“What’s wrong love?”

“When were you going to tell me about all of the women your great-grandfather raped and killed on this land?”  as I looked at him I noticed that he was wearing the same old leather blacksmith’s apron that the killer was wearing in the picture I held.

“I wasn’t going to tell you, my love, I was going to show you.”

I didn’t try to fight.  I prayed myself into eternal rest.

***********************************************************************

This was written for The Speakeasy

Single Post Navigation

63 thoughts on “I never imagined…

  1. Spooky and very clever…xx

  2. Lance on said:

    wow! The ending came out of nowhere. This was great, honey.

  3. Creepy. Well done.

  4. YOWKS!!! Didn’t see that one coming.

    Well done as ever 🙂

  5. What a horrid twist. Someone should of told her. Well done.

  6. and, here, all I thought was important was to visit the neighborhood at different times of the day before buying a house…

  7. You should sue that real estate broker for failure to disclose.

  8. Good one! Like grandfather like grandson.

  9. Gah! So suspenseful! And I was very surprised at where it went!

  10. No way I saw that coming.
    I’d watch the movie!

  11. OMG such a great ending! And creepy, of course.

  12. Dude!!! Hahaha that’s creepy. Love it

  13. Now that is seriously frightening. Very well done.

  14. YOu scared me dear! I just held my breath ! 🙂

  15. wow this kept me hooked. What a built up and the ending is the stealer…
    Creepy but written very well.

  16. Oh I had visions when she turned around, forgive me for what I say next – Hubby was going to ‘squash’ any plans she may had had. Love the start off, the peacefulness and then wham straight for the jugular. Well done Bo!

  17. Oooo! Creepy! Great job!

  18. iasoupmama on said:

    Creeptastic!! And why didn’t anyone tell her? Bad neighbors…

  19. I literally jumped at the ending. What a fantastic twist, and I never saw it coming.

  20. Wow! That ending really caught me by surprise. Well done!

  21. Whoa! Deana! I totally wasn’t expecting that ending! Nicely done!

  22. Love it! I love your writing! 🙂

  23. Yikes! What an ending – I did not see it coming. Fantastic job building suspense Deana! Loved it!

  24. My jaw literally dropped. And my stomach.

  25. Wowzers! No way you could fit that into 100 words. Little disappointed that the towns – people didn’t try to help her. But maybe by default they were all in on ‘it’.

    I actually know of a place …so I’m told ‘upstate’ where college students, campers would go missing. And while there was a suspect…since nothing could be proved….

    • It’s so scary when things like that happen! It makes me want to keep my kids with me at all time. Unfortunately, my teenager doesn’t like that idea. lol. Thank you for reading.

  26. You really got me with this one. I knew there was something with the history but for history to repeat itself. What a great lead in.
    http://annbennett2.blogspot.com

  27. Wow! You sucked me in with that one! Creeeeepy! (but I mean that with admiration :))

  28. Wow, this was creepy and the ending completely unexpected (but not in the ‘what was that?’ way). Nice story! (oh, and Happy B-Day!)

Leave a Reply

