MY THOUGHTS ON THE SUBJECT ARE AS FOLLOWS

My truth. My life.

Growing into me

imagesCAV4GWV3

I want to begin by introducing myself.

**

I am a woman who has seen pain.

I have felt pain and I have escaped pain.

I have been lied to as

I remained honest.

I have been cheated on yet

I remained faithful.

I have been broken into tiny shattered pieces

and I have managed to piece myself back together.

I have trusted in others completely without

ever really trusting myself.

I have given all of myself to others without

receiving anything in return.

**

I have grown into a woman whom I can be proud of.

I have helped build a family that

surpasses all of my dreams.

I have accomplished many things that I thought

would never come to be.

I have not let my past infect my future

with negativity.

I have a bright future ahead of me.

I have achieved happiness.

***********************************************************

This is done for Trifecta

INFECT 1: to contaminate with a disease-producing substance or agent (as bacteria) 2a : to communicate a pathogen or a disease to   b : of a pathogenic organism : to invade (an individual or organ) usually by penetration   c : of a computer virus : to become transmitted and copied to (as a computer) 3a : contaminate, corrupt     b : to work upon or seize upon so as to induce sympathy, belief, or support <trying to infect their salespeople with their enthusiasm>

Please remember:
  • Your response must be between 33 and 333 words.
  • You must use the 3rd definition of the given word in your post.
  • The word itself needs to be included in your response.
  • You may not use a variation of the word; it needs to be exactly as stated above.
  • Only one entry per writer.
  • If you know your post does not meet the requirements of the challenge, please leave your link in the comments section, not in the linkz.
  • Trifecta is open to everyone.  Please join us.
Single Post Navigation

68 thoughts on “Growing into me

  1. Well done. I think many will identify with this.

  2. This is why we are together. we have parallel past paths…says that three times fast…I love that you have your self awarenss. This was beautiful. People will connect with it.

  3. I certainly connect with it.

  4. As Shackled said above, I also connect deeply with this. I love your opening line that sets the pace of this piece.

  5. This is beautiful, especially “I have not let my past infect my future” and “I have helped build a family that surpasses all of my dreams.”

  6. Brilliant,once again & so from your heart:-)

  7. I love the optimism in this piece !!!

  8. Such a positive and inspiring piece. Well done, enjoyed this.

  9. A very positive post! I definitely enjoyed reading it!

  10. The ability to recover, heal, and grow forward. You’ve caught it all right here. Very well done!

  11. And to top it all you have your blog and you are a good writer. Cheers!

  12. That made me go all cold inside… beautiful…xx

  13. Deana, this is a gorgeous piece. I feel I have met this woman. In the mirror. Glad to know she’s not alone.

    Quick thing: missing a word in this line…
    “I have managed (to) piece myself back together.”
    It’s too good a piece not to mention it. Feel free to delete my comment after fixing. 😉

  14. bless you for this moving & inspiring post !
    and thank you for visiting me with such smiles & kind words 🙂

  15. She sounds like someone I know too. A great way to put this all together & wrap it up so nicely with happiness 🙂

  16. Preach it sistah! This is very inspiring.

  17. whiteladyinthehood on said:

    Very Very Nice poem!

  18. Powerful words. Well done.

  19. A really great uplifting piece

  20. “I have not let my past infect my future / with negativity.” <– Yes, this! Wonderful job!

  21. It’s obvious you’re a strong, capable woman. Kudos for overcoming and surpassing everything life throws at you (:

  22. Very good take on the prompt Deana!

  23. Introducing yourself and telling your life in words is what makes this realistic and inspiring. Thank you Bo – overcoming diversity and managing happiness is all that we can dream of.

  24. *Sits, now calmly, with empathy and understanding…only with head slightly tilted – and thinks…Am I looking into a mirror?*

    Well done. Hugs, and more hugs.

  25. I LOVED this. LOVED it. So honest. So thoughtful. So straight to the point and had so much heart.

  26. Along with the I have not let my past infect my future, I also love the line, I have achieved happiness. It’s the word achieved that tells us what it means to you. Your poetry is always so moving.

  27. Really great writing, Deana. I love a message that conveys hope!

  28. this is FABULOUS!

  29. congratulations! most inspirational 🙂

  30. Wow. I love how you laid it all out there. Very real and powerful.

  31. may it ever be so, deana – may it ever be so.

  32. Great piece of self-affirmation – it brought to mind Helen Reddy: “I am Woman, I am invincible”

  33. Lovely, positive piece!

    bit of crit: if you don’t like “whom”, you can just leave out “who”:
    I have grown into a woman who I can be proud of.

Leave a Reply

