MY THOUGHTS ON THE SUBJECT ARE AS FOLLOWS

My truth. My life.

Follow your instinct pt 3

imagesCAQL21L6

The bar we started at wasn’t a complete bust.  At least we were able to get a list of names off of credit card slips from last night.  The plan was to try to get a list from other local bars and cross-reference them.  Chris was sure that he had hit more than one bar trying to find what he was looking for.

I wasn’t so sure that he hadn’t found what he was looking for in me.  I just couldn’t shake the feeling that he knew exactly who he wanted and when he wanted her.  Almost like he pre picked his victims.

I didn’t want to share my theory with Chris.  The last thing we needed was for him to panick.  My heart was already beating 100 times a second and I couldn’t figure out exactly why.  It could possibly be the excitement of a new case.  I have always love delving into a new crime, putting the pieces together and solving the problem.  I have been that was since my mom was killed when I was 10.  The other possibility is that the thought of seeing those blue eyes again made me excited in ways unimaginable.

“What do you say we stop at the Waffle Huddle and I will by you lunch?”

“I would say that you have perfect timing my friend.  My stomach is about to start rumbling.”

The Waffle Huddle was completely empty which was odd for a Monday.  It was good for us.  We could discuss the case without a lot of ears around.  While we waited for the waitress I could tell that Chris was a little nervous about something.  After we ordered and the waitress brough our chocolate milk I asked him.

“Ok, Chris, spill it.  What do you want to know?”

“It’s not that I want to know.  You and I both know that the chief will have questions.  I was hoping you would tell me everything that happened last night so that I wouldn’t be surprised if anything came out.  I’m on your side in this.  In this and everything else.”

“Chris. What are you saying exactly?  I told you everything.  He sat down.  I turned him away and left.  That’s it.  Do you think I’m lying to you?”

“No!  I just wanted to make sure all of our I’s were dotted and things like that.  I promise!”

“Ok, then, good.”

“Are there any characteristics that you can give me beside “Brilliant blue eyes”?”

I looked up as Betty, our waitress, was returning with our food.

“Hey Betty.  Had any customers with “Brilliant blue eyes” come in lately?”  Chris asked her while he laughed at me.

“As a matter of fact I have.  Yesterday about this time he came in.  Ordered coffee and eggs.  I remember cause all the girls in here started giggling and staring.”

“Did he say anything about where he was staying?”

“something about visiting family.  New to town.  To tell the truth, he talked.  I just stared into those eyes.”

“Thanks Betty.” I said as I began to eat.  I was hoping that Chris would just let that last comment she made go.

“After we eat, I’m gonna make a stop on our way back.” Chris said.

“Where we going?”

“Eye Dr.  I’m going to check into getting some colored contacts.  Who knew that’s all it would take to have girls fall all over me.”

I threw my napkin across the table and we both laughed.  It felt nice to laugh with him.  He and I had been best friends since kindergarten, and now we are partners.  Something had changed about 2 years ago and the laughing went away.

I guess he could sense how worried I was cause he stopped laughing.

“Dont worry Shane, it’s out there.”

“What is?”

“Him, Mr. Blue eyes.  We’ll find him.”

I knew we would.  What I didn’t know, however, is how I would react when we did.

**************************************************************************************

This is the next installment in my Follow your instinct story.

You can find part 1 & 2 here: Part 1   Part 2

*************************************************************************************

This was done for Sunday Scribblings

Sunday2

Single Post Navigation

25 thoughts on “Follow your instinct pt 3

  1. I am on the edge of my seat! Go on!

  2. I wish I could find stories like this when I download free ebooks to my Nook!! Each part just keeps getting better Deana! More more 🙂

  3. Hold on I’ve only just started following let me catch up before you go on… cause I’m loving it…

  4. Gonna have to go make a cuppa and come back and read this all….xx

  5. Oooh this just keeps getting better and better:)

  6. Nice extra installment! Good one!

  7. I like this comfortable camaraderie between Shane and Chris.

  8. Is the Waffle Huddle a real place? or a made up name. I love waffles. 🙂

    Your story is easy to read and to follow……..even though I started with part 3. lol
    But I went back and started all over.

  9. Impatiently waiting for what happens next…

  10. I’m anxiously waiting to see what happens next! 😀 I have a feeling a love connection will happen here, but that might kind of complicate things! 🙂

  11. It’s moving along nicely Deana. I stumbled on a few typos nothing major just wanted you to know. I’m looking forward to your next installment.

  12. Good series, Deana. 🙂 I look forward to the next. I hope she gets to keep her senses. Please pretty please. 🙂

  13. Pingback: Follow your instinct pt 4 | MY THOUGHTS ON THE SUBJECT ARE AS FOLLOWS

Leave a Reply

