MY THOUGHTS ON THE SUBJECT ARE AS FOLLOWS

My truth. My life.

Not without a ring

prompt1-300x300

A flash sparked across the sky and for a minute I found myself hoping that is was superman coming to save me and whisk me away.  Not that I think superman’s cute or anything but it would be nice for a decent man to come along and sweep me off of my feet.  Dont get me wrong, I have dated many, many men in my time.  Well a few.  Okay stop looking at me that way.  I have dated 1 man. Fine, are you happy now?  1 man.

His name is Clint.  He wasnt much to look at but he treated me really good.  He owned a laundry mat and he used to let me wash my clothes for free.  On his breaks we would sneak out to the alley out back and make out.  He always wanted to do more than that but my motto has always been “No ring, No bada-bing.”  I remember one night we were sitting on the chairs right outside the back door and I asked him if he loved me.  He said no.  He went on to explain that he didn’t believe in love.  He thought love was something the card companies had made up to make money.  I knew, right then and there, that it was time for me to go home.

The next day my parents went out and bought me a computer.  They thought it would be a good way for me to meet people.  Mom signed me up for all of those online dating sites.  I insisted on putting my real picture up regardless of how much mom begged me not to.  “If they didn’t like me on the computer screen, they were not going to like me in person” I told her.  Here I am 2 months later and still no dates.

I think I am destined to be alone, and that’s okay.  As long as I have Sir Hinkley by my side.  He’s the best cat anyone could wish for.  Tonight for dinner I ordered us something special.  Chinese delivery.  I think that will be a good thank you gift to him for loving me so much.  The doorbell rang and we both raced to the door.  He always won.  When I opened the door, I was shocked to see Clint standing there with my dinner.  I asked him what he was doing here.  He handed me a card and told me that he was wrong about love.  He didn’t realize what love was until he lost it with me.  We spent the rest of the night crying, laughing and making out.  Yes, just making out.  At least until I get my ring.

***************************************************************************

I wrote this for : The Speakeasy

Single Post Navigation

48 thoughts on “Not without a ring

  1. Wonderful Cinderella story 🙂

  2. It won’t be long before there is a ring methinks! 😉 Nice piece.

  3. All right, I give up, maybe, just maybe … love happens … sometimes. Awesome story despite my grand cynicism about the L word. Hehe This flowed so well and once again, your ending is simply perfect. You almost make me want to try fiction … almost.

    • You should try! I started doing poetry only. Now I love both!

      • I have some, written like 9 or 10 years ago on my blog, but for some reason I get all tongue tied, no wrong metaphor for typing, lol, ummm finger tied? well, whatever … when it comes to “story”. For now, I will just enjoy yours. Take care.

  4. Another great piece!

  5. I really like this. This would also make a great novel. The characters are all likable, and I can’t help but wonder about their lives.

  6. I love it, deana. Consistent voice, sweet story, sweet character. And I love the name Sir Hinkley for the cat. Nice writing!

  7. That’s a beautiful story!
    You nailed the tone and the interaction.
    (And I’m very happy for both of them.)

  8. Aw, this was so sweet, and I’m such a sucker for a happy ending. Now you need to write part two – the ring!! Bada BING! Ha.

  9. This is great Deana! Love your character – and the ending made me laugh out loud. Wonderful story!

  10. A modern day fairy tale in the making 🙂

  11. Lance on said:

    Great imagination. Sir Hinkley for a cat. I have to think about that. I like the language and the way your voice moves throughout.

  12. iasoupmama on said:

    I love the humor in the first paragraph. Very fun! And yay for love!

  13. Oh lovely! And such a feel good factor at the end. Well done.

  14. I love a good love story! But I especially like that the narrator stuck to her guns — she has a lot of integrity and that’s so admirable!

  15. Your main character was very real. I liked this little vignette very much.

  16. nataliedeyoung on said:

    Your characters were very engaging! Love this cute little story with the happy ending. 🙂

  17. modmomelleroy on said:

    Aw yeah! Love! And I think he’ll put a ring on it! 🙂

  18. This was so sweet! I loved it and I love your main character!

  19. Aww, what a sweet ending! I wasn’t so sure about what would happen — pleasantly surprised 🙂

  20. I love this…you should continue this story.

  21. Fine writing, Deana 🙂

  22. I like her voice. And I like her and her happy ending. 🙂

Leave a Reply

