MY THOUGHTS ON THE SUBJECT ARE AS FOLLOWS

My truth. My life.

I know something

I have a secret.

Do you want to know what it is?

What if it changes the way you look at me?

What if it changes the way you look at yourself?

Would you still want to know?

I have a secret.

If I tell you mine, will you tell me yours?

Will you sleep better tonight knowing what I know?

If I don’t tell you, will you not sleep at all?

Would you still want to know?

I have a secret.

What if what I know will upset you?

What if it brought you a pain so deep you couldn’t bear it?

What if it made you happy?

What if it brought you an overwhelming amount of joy?

Would you still want to know?

I have a secret.

What if my secret was about someone else?

What if it is so juicy that you couldn’t stand not knowing?

What if I promised I wouldn’t tell?

Would you still want to know?

***

My secret is:

Gossip can shatter a person.

Please stop.

Single Post Navigation

45 thoughts on “I know something

  1. What a brilliant secret. And that is one to share

  2. Reblogged this on Alastair's Blog and commented:
    This is one secret that needs to be heard

  3. Reblogged this on noelheartpoet and commented:
    True

  4. Brilliant piece. I love it

  5. Aka Teraka on said:

    One of the best I’ve read in a while. So true.

  6. Love this poem D!

  7. Excellent! I love this poem! It is very reminiscent of this http://tinyurl.com/bypqmjv – the link takes you to an archived newspaper column. It’s a reply Ann Landers gave someone who requested a poem entitled Who Am I? because they were a victim of gossip.

  8. Lance on said:

    Hey, did you hear about so and so?

    very poignant baby.

  9. Loved it, well done!

  10. One of the best stories on this subject was about a little old woman who had a difficult time stopping. She finally went to a town elder. His advice was to take her feather pillow and bring it to the town square and empty it. When she was able to retrieve every feather…then she would be allowed to tell her tale tales again.

    Well something like that. I’ve left a couple of ‘social clubs’ because I can not abide by ‘gossip mongering’. – Thank you for sharing this secret.

  11. Would you please make this into a sign that we can hang up everywhere? Beautifully said, and so very true. xoxo

  12. Reblogged this on One Starving Activist and commented:
    Yes!!!!!!!!! #NuffSaid.

  13. Love the punchline!
    Other than that, I have no real use for gossip.
    (The band Gossip, on the other hand, is pretty good,)

  14. That is the perfect secret. Love it.

  15. I love this!! I know too many people that are obsessed with gossip. I make a concerted effort not to say something about anyone if they are not there to defend themselves. Well done!

  16. That’s what I heard.

  17. They gossip sadly about me in this new job I have.. I see them whisper… 2 months now…and I have had enough…Gossiping is hurtful and unwarranted…great piece Bo.

  18. So true… gossip can destroy lives.

  19. I like all your poetry… But this is the one…

  20. I love your secret! Thank you for telling Kim =)
    -Naima.

Leave a Reply

