MY THOUGHTS ON THE SUBJECT ARE AS FOLLOWS

My truth. My life.

Use your imagination

imagesCAVBWTQU

 

The smell from the bakery next door made my stomach rumble every time I opened my window.  It had been a long time since I was able to give my daughter anything besides bread and an occasional potato to eat.  Every night we would sit down and use our imagination.  Tonight’s slice of bread was really barbecue chicken with corn on the cobb.  Our glass of water was a glass of sweet tea.

I couldn’t help but to tear up when she would look up at me and ask “Mommy, What does it taste like?”  My heart broke every time.

 

*********************************************************************

 

This is for 100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups – Week#78

100wcgu-7

The prompt this week is:

…what does it taste like…

If you are here for the first time do have a look at ‘What is 100WCGU?’. If that doesn’t answer all your questions leave them below on the comments. Please link your post back here so that others can find us and of course make sure it is suitable for a PG certificate.

Single Post Navigation

21 thoughts on “Use your imagination

  1. Wow! That was fabulous! You hit a chord with that one, my dear.

  2. Awe, heartbreaking!! I’m not tryin to be sad today.. thanks a lot D!! 🙂

  3. I expect this is the most moving thing I’ll read this week.

  4. wow a t the heartbreak and realism. brilliant.

  5. That is incredibly sad. Too many families have it like that. Heartbreaking 😦

  6. C’est génial ce que tu écris. Cela me fait penser à une histoire un peu similaire avec une famille pauvre qui ne trouve rien à manger. La maman allume un feu en bois sur lequel elle met une marmite d’eau avec des cailloux et fait semblant à ses enfants de leur préparer à manger jusqu’à ce qu’ils s’endorment avec leur faim.

  7. Oh…this touches on my fears. How painful this situation could be for the mother who feels her daughter’s want and hurt and cannot take it away and who is herself afraid and hurting.

  8. Fabulous take on the prompt, heartbreaking

  9. Such a real part of life, sad and heartbreaking.

  10. Well done! You pulled us in and tugged on each heart string leaving us wanting more and hoping for a happy ending.

Leave a Reply

