MY THOUGHTS ON THE SUBJECT ARE AS FOLLOWS

My truth. My life.

Just one door

159596380516537490_MgentAYd_c

Stop.

Do I dare to dream what is on the other side?

Escaping you can never be my reality.

It seems easy.

I know things are never as they seem.

You will find me.

You will break me.

Just one door to cross and I will have wings.

The shackles you have firmly placed around me

are unbreakable.

The whips you call words have

bruised me and made me bleed.

Hope building up inside me

as I place my hand on the door.

So proud.

The key turns and you walk in

and flash your killer smile.

The door shuts tighter than before.

*******************************************************

This was done for Visadare

RULES:
150 words – or less. Post entry to your blog and “link in” using the link tool below.
No blog? Post your 150 words in the comments below.
(Please – no erotica or graphic violence.)
As always – thanks for participating!
Single Post Navigation

11 thoughts on “Just one door

  1. I would love to use this on my blog http:// uneducatedjpourney.com it is a blog on domestic abuse if you wouldn’t mind? When I click the links in the email I received it says page not found though. Please let me know if I might use your wonderful poem with you as author of course! Happy V Day!~~Len MY GOD IS AN AWESOME GOD!

  2. Nicely written! Is the picture the prompt?

  3. jazzbumpa on said:

    That’s how codependence works.
    But who puts the shackles there?
    One can only break the breakable.

    JzB

  4. Your words have given you wings, no longer to be shackled or tormented. Brilliant D.

  5. WOW. So very powerful. Sobering, raw, real. That last line is killer.

Leave a Reply

