MY THOUGHTS ON THE SUBJECT ARE AS FOLLOWS

My truth. My life.

Death by movie

“Mom, Have I told you you’re the best mom in the world?”

“What do you want?”

“I’m gonna die if I don’t get to see this movie tonight.”

“For the millionth time, No!”

*********************************************************

For Trifecta

For this weekend’s challenge we’re asking you to include some hyperbole in
your piece.  It doesn’t have to be the whole piece, but it needs to be in there,
and we’re looking for 33 words, as usual.

Good luck and have fun with it!

Single Post Navigation

64 thoughts on “Death by movie

  1. I love the way that kids say ‘die’ in that sentence, they make it sound like fun.

  2. Oooh, that first line sounds like me when I was younger. Great tale.

  3. So real. Heard that a jillion times!!

  4. I have one that works this angle. The answer is still no. Family fun!

  5. Les enfants connaissent la diplomatie de la demande: Il commence par des mots doux comme par exemple:” Maman, tu es gentille et je t’aime”, et la maman, par expérience, devine que derrière cette belle phrase, il y a une demande qui va suivre. Oh, ces enfants qui nous fatiguent des fois.

  6. That is brilliant! So much hyperbole! 🙂

  7. This conversation sounds familiar.

  8. Ahh the desperation of it all! I remember feeling that way. 🙂

  9. Love when kids do that! So much riding on those moments. And yeah, I can remember feeling that way too… 🙂

  10. Hehehe, very good story! 🙂

  11. Sweet… I can hear their voices pleading. Nice one.

  12. Ahh the joys of crafty, cunning children, young or old… 🙂 I like your response though too. You don’t get to die on my watch!

  13. I can’t believe she’s willing to let that poor kid die.
    Well, at least there won’t be any more hyperbole…

  14. Linking an acknowledgement of the other person with what is our own desire can be good relationship strategy. But for it to be effective, the genuineness and passion needs to shine through. How could we do this right?

    Shakti

  15. I could have been there… well captured.

  16. I used to try this same tactic. Surprisingly, it worked more often than not…

  17. pretty sure i used that line before haha ^^
    and i’m pretty sure my mom said no too.lol

  18. Hehe, nice 🙂 Great choice of subject 😀

  19. There is nothing like teenaged angst to make a parent go absolutely HYPERBOLISTIC!! Nice one, Deana!

  20. Classic technique. I used to have that one in my toolbox as a kid.

  21. Classic! It reminds me of my childhood so much!!!Not a single time did this technique work, though!

  22. Heard it. Said it. Really good one!

  23. Perfect hyperbole. I could picture this in my head!

  24. Ruby Manchanda on said:

    Thirty three words that many of us might relate to. Good work.

  25. LOL!Teenagers!They sure know how to use hyperbole;-)Great piece Deana:-)

  26. Hahaha!!! I sooo remember a gazillion conversations like this in my house… almost makes me miss my two “grownup” kids… *almost*. 😉

  27. Yep. Been there, cant wait to watch the daughter deal with it.

  28. debseeman on said:

    If I didn’t already know it, I could discern from this post alone that you, a.) have kids, and b.) have a girl, and in your case girls.

  29. Just like me and the kids. 🙂

Leave a Reply

