MY THOUGHTS ON THE SUBJECT ARE AS FOLLOWS

My truth. My life.

Forbidden

tumblr_mhfidngpMG1ql39g0o1_500

 

Watching her work was exquisite brilliance.

She could take a simple glass of water and

decorate it with beauty.

They way the lights danced through her shimmering

crimson hair, filled me with impure delights.

I desired her.

It was a raw, unhealthy, misguided need

that I couldn’t dismiss.

Would one flawless embrace from her

be enough to give up my existence?

With one glance in my direction she

told me that she shared my pain in wanting.

**

I walked away.

******************************************************************************

This was done for Picture it & Write

pictureitandwrite2copy-1

I urge people to join in, comment with your paragraph of fiction to accompany the image. It doesn’t have to follow my story or reflect the same themes. It can be a poem or in a different language (provide a translation please :) ). Anyone who wants to join in, is welcome. This photograph will be reblogged under Ermisenda on tumblr and added to the Picture it & Write gallery on Facebook and Pinterest.

Single Post Navigation

27 thoughts on “Forbidden

  1. glass bedazzlers are devils

    seriously, the imagery was great and so was the what if?

  2. Bravo! C’est merveilleux. Il faut savoir faire face à la mauvaise tentation.

  3. Stunning words that hit you – ”impure delights” suddenly one realises something is going to be said…and of course wonderful contrast with the glass.. lovely look at -mutual – temptation and fascination, or desire. I wonder why she walked away exactly. I would not agree with the ”mauvaise tentation” concept, unless she is married,or does not feel the same feelings of desire when they are clearly returned, or simply does not want to take that step.
    Haven’t read your poetry for that long, but have liked each and everyone. This one is the best I read, in its rhythm, clever analogy and forbidden fruit type topic. Beautifully done, but in all honesty, between you and kz you have cornered the poetry and prose this week on Picture It & Write!

    • Wow. Terrific comment and compliments. When I wrote it I was imagining that the person was married. I guess it could go so many ways.

      Thank you so much for reading and leaving me with your thoughts. They mean so much to me!

  4. super words – the building of tension – magical!

  5. You know how much I love “what if’s”? A LOT! So hard to want that much and walk away. So, so good!

  6. You took a simple three-word sentence and decorated it with meaning!

  7. I regularly find “Impure Delights” in things. But that may be just because I am a man.

  8. i honestly believe that this is your best work (that i’ve read) the desire — the mutual desire — was almost palpable.. then the ending: three little words that leave you stunned. bravo on this one ^^

  9. I’m going to try that picture it thing! Cool idea! Also if you choose to accept I’ve gifted you a liebster award details at http://disorderlywanderlustblog.blogspot.com/2013/02/leibsters-like-lobsters-minus-butter.html?m=1

  10. Just. Brilliant! Not one word wasted.

  11. Pain in wanting… sad how often wanting does cause pain. Well versed. I will have to try this Picture It & Write thing myself 🙂

  12. Exquisitely written D…really.

  13. The ending! An unexpected shock that pushed the story that bit further. It really makes my mind start spinning about what happened, what didn’t happen. Thanks for contributing this week, it was a splendid read!

    – Ermisenda

Leave a Reply

