MY THOUGHTS ON THE SUBJECT ARE AS FOLLOWS

My truth. My life.

Puppet

inquisitr.com

inquisitr.com

I don’t want to love you.

I love you.

I don’t want to want you.

I want you.

I don’t want to need you.

I need you.

******

You have broken me and rebuilt me

to fit your requisite.

You have changed the path of my

life so that I may follow behind you.

******

I am your puppet.

You are my puppeteer.

********************************************************

This was done for trifecta:

This week’s word is:
PATH 1: a trodden way 2: a track specially constructed for a particular use 3a : course, route   b : a way of life, conduct, or thought

Please remember:
  • Your response must be between 33 and 333 words.
  • You must use the 3rd definition of the given word in your post.
  • The word itself needs to be included in your response.
  • You may not use a variation of the word; it needs to be exactly as stated above.
  • Only one entry per writer.
  • Trifecta is open to everyone.  Please join us.
Single Post Navigation

79 thoughts on “Puppet

  1. Howdy doody, this is good. See what I did there? Howdy doody was a puppet…anyway,

    I like how you built the last few lines. Excellent work.

  2. I like the style you’re using. Well done!

  3. Wow, that was amazing. In fact, I see no point in writing one myself now. You win! I give up.

  4. I like the way you built on the antithesis of each line, very powerful.

  5. Joanne on said:

    Compelling, and nicely matched with startling photo. I liked it.

  6. I went to the Trifecta page, via the link you sent me so I could play too.. I have all week to do the Challenge, or assignment, right?

    And I agree with Hotspur! This is really good! I love the ‘puppet’ idea. Very clever. How can I compete with that..!?!?! ~J (Not that it’s competitive.. it’s fun.. I’m just complimenting you in a round a bout way)

  7. And the intensity continues! Muted, but it’s still very much there.

  8. Oohhh. Chilling the way the “you” in the poem has broken down the narrator. Nice!

  9. I really like this, it is sad that the puppet is so broken.

  10. Is there much worse than feeling you have been stripped of your humanity and relegated to that of a marionette? Incredibly sad and breathtakingly good. 🙂

  11. Ouch. The cycle of abuse you’ve captured here could be either emotional or physical. Painful either way, and very powerful.

  12. this is great. you write about feelings and relationships very well. you touch on very real emotions and topics that people can actually relate to.. well done ^^

  13. Another good write Deana 🙂

  14. Sounds like the most painful kind of love. Compelling work!

  15. Nice work, deana. Chilling, and very moving.

  16. This is lovely, and so sad. I really like the rhythm of the first section, and *love* these lines: “You have broken me and rebuilt me // to fit your requisite.” That last bit in particular is something I keep rolling around in my mouth. I just like the way it sounds.

  17. Extremely emotional and very deep, I love it!

  18. Draug419 on said:

    A puppet both willing and unwilling. I like this a lot (:

  19. love how you formed this! definitely not a healthy relationship! {smile}

  20. I love how even though this is simple in words, it’s quite powerful in emotion. Well done!

  21. I liked everything about this especially all the contradiction.

  22. Painful to read! Well done 🙂

  23. This was beautifully written. I just love how every line highlighted her (his?) lack of control over her/his life and emotions.

  24. In just reading it, I feel like I’m being pulled in different directions. Good stuff!

  25. This is so real-somehow to me it reflected the tug of war between fate &/love & us human beings-our emotions pull us this way while fate keeps us hopping & hoping.Loved the intense,underlying emotion in this one-the photo sharpens that more.Great poetry Deana:-)

  26. This person sounds very much like a victim, caught in the thrall of someone else. Nice work.

  27. Well, you’ve written another one that hits close to home. Very nicely done.

  28. The worst part of being a puppet is when you first notice the strings!

  29. Well done, Deana. This is chilling in a way, the compulsion to love, want, need.

  30. Pingback: Refreshing – A Saturday Poetry Post « Lyrical Anarchy

  31. Awww! And life is your stage.

  32. Pingback: Jump Off To Poetry | Lyrical Anarchy

Leave a Reply

