MY THOUGHTS ON THE SUBJECT ARE AS FOLLOWS

My truth. My life.

The song

Charlotte Gainsbourg, AnOther

Charlotte Gainsbourg, AnOther

Where is it?

That song.

You know the one.

The one I’m looking for.

The whisky and black birds,

are calling my name.

I can’t go without the song.

That song.

You know the one.

**************************************************

This was written for The Mag

This blog is dedicated to the enjoyment of poets and writers, for the purpose of honing their craft, sharing it with like-minded bloggers, and keeping their muses alive and well.

Instructions

1) Write a poem or short vignette using the picture featured in this post as your inspiration. Feel free to take the image to use for your post.
2) Link back to Magpie Tales from your post.
3) Sign up in the Mr. Linky list, linking directly to your post, AFTER you’ve posted.
Single Post Navigation

47 thoughts on “The song

  1. the body language, the black birds, and the last 3 lines make this the darkest but most awesome small piece you’ve done. I love the ambitious cave you went into to.

  2. i just read your comment about the Black birds…well done. ❤

  3. The “The whisky and black birds, are calling my name.” makes me think she is looking for a country western type of song. Loved the poem. I used to do that too before google was invented. Thank goodness for lyrics searches. lol

  4. Nice! ..Hum.. maybe I sould check this out.. I like writing ideas like this! Nice choice of words D! ~ J.

  5. oh my gosh- didn’t know about black birds! Excellent take on this image and thanks for visiting and leaving such nice words!

  6. blackbird, that would be Beatles, but for some reason i thought of Mockingbird by James Taylor and Carly Simon

  7. Haunting and intense! Great job.
    Made me think of this song

  8. You did good with the prompt. I’ve been collecting prompts all day. I’ll see what comes out tomorrow.

  9. Insightful take on this photo prompt. Ah, I know the feeling well.

    Thanks so much for becoming a follower.

  10. i can never remember the title or the name of the singer/band! enjoyed your take on the prompt!

  11. I am in awe… The darkness – irreversible, yet so rich and alive. I could imagine this being sung by Janice Joplin…

  12. A la recherche du vinyl perdu…

  13. Great picture/poem combo!

  14. Any mention of blackbirds, and I hear the record on which Paul McCartney sang ‘Blackbird singing in the dead of night…’ And a real bird sang its liquid song at the start and end of this magical track. 🙂

  15. Helen Dehner on said:

    Me too … Blackbird is going to cycle through my brain — all day 🙂 Not a bad thing. Great write!

  16. I really liked this… especially this line: “The whisky and black birds, are calling my name.” This made me think of all the Black Crowes songs from my youth.

  17. really like where you went with the prompt….nicely done and thanks for sharing

Leave a Reply

