MY THOUGHTS ON THE SUBJECT ARE AS FOLLOWS

My truth. My life.

Waking up

Somehow I managed to wake up before I actually woke up.  I could hear people talking around me, and I could smell someone’s awful perfume.  My head hurt entirely too much to open my eyes.

I knew that I wasn’t in the cafe that I was walking to and I was sure I wasn’t at the reu…  Wait, a car, I remember seeing a car, racing toward me.  I heard a scream, then I woke up here.  Where is here?  I felt my body jerk but I still couldn’t open my eyes.

“Hey, Something’s happening.” I heard a man say.  That voice.  Where did I know that voice from?

“Nurse, Can you get the Dr. Please?” I heard him yell.

Doctor?  Why do I need a Dr.?  What was happening? Why the hell couldn’t I open my eyes?  Why couldn’t I talk to them?

“Hi, I’m Dr. Cross. And you are?”

“Hi,Dr. I’m Jeff, Jeff Brien.  I saw her jerk her body a few minutes ago.  Is that a good sign?”

“unfortunately, it is still to early to tell.  Let’s let her rest for awhile.”

Oh my God, Jeff is here. He can’t see me like this.  I felt a panic washing over me.  I had to wake up.  I had to get out of this bed.  I felt a warmth on my hand and realized that Jeff had placed his hand over mine.  It calmed me.  It brought my heart beat down to an idle speed.

“Veda, if you can hear me, I’m here.  I’m not leaving your side.”

I felt myself relax at that moment.  I knew that what ever was happening to me, Jeff was going to help me through it.

***************************************************************

This is the next installment in my story.  You can find the previous post’s here:  NervesPull yourself together, Crossing the street

This was done for Trifecta.

 

IDLE 1: lacking worth or basis : vain <idle chatter> <idle pleasure> 2: not occupied or employed: as     a : having no employment : inactive <idle workers>     b : not turned to normal or appropriate use <idle farmland>     c : not scheduled to compete <the team will be idle tomorrow> 3: a : shiftless, lazy

Please remember:
  • Your response must be between 33 and 333 words.
  • You must use the 3rd definition of the given word in your post.
  • The word itself needs to be included in your response.
  • You may not use a variation of the word; it needs to be exactly as stated above.
  • Only one entry per writer.
  • Trifecta is open to everyone.  Please join us.
Single Post Navigation

50 thoughts on “Waking up

  1. Good story. I feel romance in the air!

  2. I like where this is going. Good job with the end. Plus, I had to search for the word, which is a good thing.

  3. This is shocking but sweet, yet not shockingly sweet! Get my drift? I love it.

  4. Very romantic! I can see this story developing into something longer.

  5. Oh I hope she wakes up! So touching but so sad.

  6. Cobbie's World on said:

    I liked this story but, at first I couldn’t put my finger on exactly why. Then, after reading the previous comments, I found myself agreeing with Lance. Far too often, the prompt pulsates in stories like a flashing neon sign. But here, in this story, you used the prompt like a good soundtrack to a movie. It was unobtrusive yet, made the story better. Well done, once again.

  7. They say people in comas may experience more than we currently think. Imagine staying in such a state, permanently. Kudos for a great read!

  8. unevenstevencu on said:

    Like how this progresses 🙂

  9. Nicely done. Feel good ending.

  10. Tag your it! Time for your award! Come and get it!!

  11. jwilliams057 on said:

    She survived the crash!

  12. Very touching. I hope wakes up soon.

  13. I like this continuation. This is turning out to be quite the romance here. (I like a good love story, though and hope you continue the story.)

  14. Yay!She did not die!And like the way she relies on her Jeff-hope she is not proved wrong.Great continuation:-)

  15. This is great – You captured her confusion very well.

  16. Cool story – at first it was like she was caught in a lucid dream, and then we slowly come to understand her situation. Also draws me in because I want to know more about her relationship with Jeff, and how she got there in the first place.

  17. I like how you gently guide the reader into where she is. There’s no force, just guiding your reader to an understanding of the moment, the circumstances, and a little about her relationship with Jeff. Well done.

  18. Having been in that position in a hospital bed, I’d say you nailed it. Great job!

  19. stephanie on said:

    Well done portrayal of what it might be like to be aware of your surroundings but be unable to let anyone know. How terrible that would be. I suppose I’m not the only one who worries unreasonably about these situations. Nice work, deana. I’m fully involved with the story.

  20. how scary it must be to wake up, unable to move, unable to see . . . nicely done, Deana

  21. This is very sweet (:

  22. Excellent story! Great take on the word, and it was interesting ‘waking up’ with the character and figuring things out as she did. 😀

  23. Definitely nice work on hiding the prompt – I liked that. Good writing.
    dk

  24. Very touching story, Deana!

  25. Pingback: Well, maybe not « MY THOUGHTS ON THE SUBJECT ARE AS FOLLOWS

Leave a Reply

