MY THOUGHTS ON THE SUBJECT ARE AS FOLLOWS

My truth. My life.

Jealousy

imagesCAOKW91F

 

Jealousy resides deep within.

Although the reason for it is valid,

I can no longer succumb to its revolting presence.

I must fight the treacherous fight and let go of my inner turmoil.

Note:  Trifecta gave us the challenge to write about our demons this weekend:

“I feel I’m able to get rid of any demons lurking in my psyche through my writing, which leaves me free to create all of this and to enjoy our family life, stepping away from all the fictional traumas and the dramas. If I write about family in crisis, then I won’t have to live through it, I guess.”

– Jodi Picoult
This weekend we’re asking for 33 of your own words that exorcise a demon.  One of your own, or one from your imagination.  Let it bleed on the page.

Single Post Navigation

34 thoughts on “Jealousy

  1. green eyed lady from a blue eyed lady…at least you’re self-aware, that’s a superpower

  2. Yeah. Wow. This is so true. I’ve been in the throes of this and it is horrifying. Well done!

  3. This is great! I’ve been in relationships where I’ve struggled with this. Thank goodness I’ve not fought this demon with my husband 🙂

  4. “They” don’t call jealousy a green-eyed MONSTER for nothing. I hope you can conquer that monster for good.

  5. That ‘ol green-eyed monster! Good of you to beat it back!

  6. I think jealously is the worst demon of all. It is a revolting presence you described it perfectly. 😀

  7. Ah,you & me wrote about sibling demons;-)Yes,fighting the green eyed sisters is an uphill task but not giving in to them,is the only salvation:-)Loved this piece!

  8. Jealousy is dangerous just because it is so very sneaky. We hardly know it is there, most of the time! Great job with this!

  9. just one look – one word – and it sneaks in like the snake it is. Glad it is not this way with Lance. 🙂 Great take on the 33, Deana.

  10. Knowing, understanding and doing something about makes all the difference. I don’t feel this one (so glad) but I could feel it through your piece.

  11. “I can no longer succumb to its revolting presence.” Jealous turns us hideously ugly. As unique individuals we have no reasons for comparisons. There will never be another identical to us.

  12. Jealousy is one of the hardest demons to oust, that’s for sure. You got it just right in your last line: you have to fight and let go at the same time.

  13. Love the last line. Describes fighting demons perfectly!

  14. Nice interpretation. Glad to hear it’s not still haunting you now.

  15. Jealousy is such an instinctual feeling. It’s a hard one to fight. Kudos on battling that demon.

  16. Jealousy as a demon…so true! And getting free of it is like being born again, a true exorcism.

  17. I love the positive note this ends on.

  18. “I forgave you thirty years ago,” I said to my ex on the phone three days before the cancer killed her. She had called to say she forgave me too.

Leave a Reply

