MY THOUGHTS ON THE SUBJECT ARE AS FOLLOWS

My truth. My life.

Imaginary dreams

101682904056266928_XWbZUtJx_c

 

Childhood should be full of magical memories.  At least, that was the mantra that we try to live by.  Preparing for the inevitable along with the doctors uncertainty of time, made this difficult.

Watching her sleep was one of my greatest joys.  That meant there was no pain, only dreams.  I tried to imagine what her dreams consisted of.  Dreams of Heaven?  Dreams of ponies?  Dreams of glittery pixie dust and Peter Pan?  She would never tell me exactly what they were.  She would say “Mom, I dream of your future.  You are gonna love it there!”  Her excitement of my future shredded my heart each morning.  I knew it was a future that wasnt going to include her.  So I would smile, just like I did every morning, and dive in for a tickle fight.  It kept her preoccupied while the nurses got ready for their morning “to do” list.

“Ok, sweetie” I said as the nurse began to hook up her iv drip.  “It’s time to get watered”

“Silly mom, I’m not a flower”

” You are my flower, sweetheart.  You were planted in my heart”

Together we laid in her hospice bed, closed our eyes and planned our imaginary, action packed, fun-filled day.

pictureitandwrite2copy-1

 

 

Note:  This was done for Picture it & Write. If you havent done this prompt yet, I urge you to.

Picture it & Write is a weekly creative writing exercise.  We invite you to join in by continuing the story or starting your own based on inspiration from the image.  Poetry and foreign languages are welcome (please provide a translation).  This photograph will be reblogged under Ermisenda on tumblr and added to the Picture it & Write gallery on Facebook and Pinterest.

Single Post Navigation

17 thoughts on “Imaginary dreams

  1. By the time you deliver the setting and the emotional heft of it, you’ve delivered such a melody of memories it’s a perfect trip. This is very well crafted.

  2. A powerful piece. This should be shared with those going through it, or given to those who know somebody who is, this or any morning. Thank you for sharing this.

  3. beautiful, heartbreaking and truth for too many.

  4. my eyes literally welled up.. beautiful..

  5. Such a heart-rending take on the pic. Loved the way you presented the story..

  6. Awwww, so sad, and so loving… Must be many in this situation… Well done..!

  7. Wow..heart wrenching. So beautiful and so very sad. Well done indeed.

  8. Oh this made me cry. Would you let us consider it for the Picture it & Write Publication? If you’ve already submitted the max number, say I requested it. Very touching piece.

  9. I like that you got pixie dust from the picture, and also the use of the word “shredded”. This is touching, Deana. Sad but hopeful. Yay for flowers!

Leave a Reply

