MY THOUGHTS ON THE SUBJECT ARE AS FOLLOWS

My truth. My life.

tightrope

9544444

Why do my words sound like ramblings and nags to you?

Every time I speak to you from the heart you accuse me of accusing you.

A simple, “hi honey, how was your day?” translates to you as “Who did you see?, Who did you talk to?”

Your guarding tones crush my soul as I try to decipher the difference between defensive guilt and defensive nature.

I realize that your past was filled with deplorable jealousy.

Is that what causes you to retaliate against me?

You ask me to trust you.  I do.

You ask me to love you.  I do.

I feel as though I am walking a constant tightrope around you.

What can I do to have you stand up for me?  Stand up for us?

You will forever have my heart and my future.

It is up to you what you do with them.

Again, I am taking note from my wonderful hubby, who I do matter to, and linking up a song.

I heard a song awhile back that helps cheer me up when I am feeling let down.  Listen to the lyrics!

This week’s word is:

CRUSH (transitive verb)

1a : to squeeze or force by pressure so as to alter or destroy structure
b : to squeeze together into a mass
2 : hug, embrace
3 : to reduce to particles by pounding or grinding

Please remember:
Your response must be between 33 and 333 words.
You must use the 3rd definition of the given word in your post.
The word itself needs to be included in your response.
You may not use a variation of the word; it needs to be exactly as stated above.
Only one entry per writer.

Single Post Navigation

28 thoughts on “tightrope

  1. Draug419 on said:

    This is so good! …Even if I’m reminded too much of my relationship with my step-mother when I read it. o__o

  2. An interesting relationship described here. Well written.

  3. That’s a hard place to be… not knowing what to say, or always having what you do say questioned.

  4. You write so very well regarding these matters, I could certainly relate. Jealousy is so insidious and harmful…

  5. One can definitely feel the tension of the relation. Very well expressed

  6. You and your boyfriend need to take a break.

    great writing sweetheart

  7. kymminbarcelona on said:

    tones that crush your soul… i’ve heard those before. Also, one of my favorite videos. Can that girl move!

  8. I know exactly how the protagonist of your poem feels. Your writing was taut, tense, yet full of emotion. Like a tightrope!

  9. I know those feeling all too well; such a terrible tension!

  10. Glad to know it is not autobiograpical and you are not writing from experience. You really captured this relationship. Well done.

  11. I think that there are many types of relationships where you find yourself unable to communicate with the other person without them becoming defensive, you becoming frustrated and so on. Getting caught in that downward spiral of negativity is never enjoyable. You captured that very well.

  12. iasoupmama on said:

    Crushed under the weight of jealousy — not cool, but beautifully written!

  13. Nice job on this. I’ve been in that kind of relationship before (not for long, though, thankfully!)

  14. “It is up to you what to do with them” was such a great line, and a really nice way to bring things to a head right there.

Leave a Reply

