MY THOUGHTS ON THE SUBJECT ARE AS FOLLOWS

My truth. My life.

You know you wanna eat this.

33983

Ketchup with us asked us to share our favorite holiday recipe with them.  Well, I’m cheating.  This is not only my favorite holiday recipe, it is my favorite all the time recipe.  I have NEVER shared this recipe with my family. They think I am amazing and the best chef in the world for this recipe.  I am trusting that no one will email my family the recipe.  I promise if you make this for anyone, you will be the hit of the party.

Lemon poppy seed winter salad.

1/2 cup white sugar

1/2 cup lemon juice

2 teaspoons diced onion

1 teaspoon Dijon-style prepared mustard

1/2 teaspoon salt

2/3 cup vegetable oil

1 tablespoon poppy seeds

1 head romaine lettuce, torn into bite-size pieces

4 ounces shredded Swiss cheese

1 cup cashews

1/4 cup dried cranberries

1 apple – peeled, cored and diced

1 pear – peeled, cored and sliced

Directions
  1. In a blender or food processor, combine sugar, lemon juice, onion, mustard, and salt. Process until well blended. With machine still running, add oil in a slow, steady stream until mixture is thick and smooth. Add poppy seeds, and process just a few seconds more to mix.
  2. In a large serving bowl, toss together the romaine lettuce, shredded Swiss cheese, cashews, dried cranberries, apple, and pear. Pour dressing over salad just before serving, and toss to coat.

Ketchup With Us

Everyone should #ketchupwithus

‘KETCHUP WITH US’ – Prompt #7

Share a favorite holiday recipe. There is no word limit.

(Well, let’s not get crazy. How about nothing over 1000 words?)

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “You know you wanna eat this.

  1. Oh, my God. My friends would LOVE this recipe. And actually so would Dave (minus the onion, of course). Your secret is safe with me. But I sure appreciate you sharing it. What a unique contribution this time of year.

    Thanks for linking up!

  2. That sounds so good..oh yeah.

  3. This sounds DELICIOUS! I can’t wait to make it. My parents visit this weekend is going to be filled with yummy treats!

  4. I love salads and this one sounds delicious! I will be having this soon.

Leave a comment