MY THOUGHTS ON THE SUBJECT ARE AS FOLLOWS

My truth. My life.

Covered and Shattered

I’m tired of everything revolving around you.

I’m here too.

I’ve suffered so long in silence standing in your shadow.

Youve pushed me so far down.

It’s as though I don’t even have a face in this world anymore.

I try to dig myself out of this hole with broken nails and shattered self.

Your hurtful words echo in my mind and reflect through my soul.

I feel like I have been bound and gagged and entrapped in this life.

I need something to begin unraveling me soon.

I need you to stop revolving and see me.

 

I urge people to join in, comment with your paragraph of fiction to accompany the image. It doesn’t have to follow my story or reflect the same themes. It can be a poem or in a different language (provide a translation please :) ). Anyone who wants to join in, is welcome. This photograph will be reblogged under Ermisenda on tumblr and added to the Picture it & Write gallery on Facebook and Pinterest.

Single Post Navigation

12 thoughts on “Covered and Shattered

  1. Wonderful…!
    What a brilliant appreciation of the picture. She/he, in this scenario, would indeed feel ‘bound’ and ‘faceless’…. Well done…

  2. umf….what a gut punch. I love the raw emotion. this is extremely powerful.

  3. Wonderfully written … the angst is well described.

    You can check my version here:

    The Way Out

  4. This gave me such a chill. I’m currently reading Handle with Care. I want to rip the children away from their parents and put them with parents who will see them instead of shoving them aside for their own desires. Wrapping them up, making them feel suffocated.

    Thanks for contributing.

  5. This portrait of a person smothered by a dominant partner is really, really good writing, Deana. I’ll try to write one tomorrow… Thanks so much for stopping by my blog and commenting, too. Peace, Amy

  6. I love when you write posts of this nature – your voice is so strong, real.

  7. This struck me because I think when you’re in a relationship and things start to go wrong and then you get in a fight, a lot of times this is how both people each feel about the other.

Leave a Reply

