MY THOUGHTS ON THE SUBJECT ARE AS FOLLOWS

My truth. My life.

Working her way up

I have practiced this speech at least 100 times in my mind.  I was sure that it wouldn’t come out exactly the way I planned it, but it was important that I finally get to express my feelings.  In a normal situation I would never use a company conference  for my own benefit.  This time would have to be different.  I waited patiently for the announcer to call me to the podium.  Listening to Kirsten list my accomplishments to the crowd should have made me proud.  Instead, it made my stomach turn.

“Ladies and Gentleman, I would like to introduce to you our new VP in Human Resources,  Jenna Fullerton.”  The sound of the applause was overwhelming.  As I walked to take my place in front of the crowd, I started to rethink my true purpose of coming here tonight.  I glanced over to my husband who was smiling ear to ear and my courage to say the unthinkable overtook me.

“Good evening Ladies and Gentleman.  I am grateful that you have joined me tonight to celebrate my promotion.  I want to start by telling you a little about myself.  I have always dreamt of working to help people.  When I was just out of college my best friend Kirsten and I were offered a job in the mailroom of this company.  We knew that it was the first step in our future.  We both worked extremely hard to work our way up in the company.  I worked 60 to 70 hours each week did everything in my power to better this company.  Kirsten, however spent many hours a week sleeping with every man and woman in power to better her paycheck.  She is now sleeping with my husband.  Enclosed in the packet of information you’ll receive immediately after this speech you will find the proof that Kirsten is not only a whore in the traditional sense of the word, but she is also an evil unscrupulous woman.”

“Thank you for your time, and good evening.”

This was written for Trifecata writing challenge.

Although we could, technically, borrow inspiration from Halloween yet again, this week we thought we’d take it in a different dark direction with the following one-word prompt:
WHORE 1: a woman who engages in sexual acts for money: prostitute; also: a promiscuous or immoral woman 2: a male who engages in sexual acts for money 3: a venal or unscrupulous person

Please remember:
  • Your response must be between 33 and 333 words.
  • You must use the 3rd definition of the given word in your post.
  • The word itself needs to be included in your response.
  • You may not use a variation of the word; it needs to be exactly as stated above.
  • Only one entry per writer.

Single Post Navigation

27 thoughts on “Working her way up

  1. hilarious….every person wish. awesome.

  2. Well, that was unexpected.
    At least she probably didn’t break any company rules, being in HR and all…

  3. A woman scorned? I’d have loved to be in the audience to see the aftermath of that bombshell.

  4. Draug419 on said:

    Ouch!
    This is so good 🙂

  5. ooooh – revenge is best served cold. 🙂

    (missed a “you” in the sentence about the packet)

    nicely done, Deana!

  6. Ohh … that’s something tough !!!

  7. Donna Kiser on said:

    Oooo, brave and brutal. Nice.

  8. YIKES! Someone’s busted! Something every woman in her unfortunate position would love to do. And it’s so much better than a thrown drink in the face. Fantastic!

  9. How horrifying! I hope the revenge was all she hoped it would be, but I can’t help thinking of the ramifications, like possibly losing her job.

  10. Well! Revenge is sweet? I liked the idea of outing the friend and the husband in such a public manner, and the story flowed along swimmingly…and then you got me with the zinger!

  11. hot damn! that took some guts to say the least! though, i doubt that was the most appropriate setting to spill the truth. nice use of the term though.

  12. Nice, and a great story of revenge — even if it doesn’t undo everything that’s happened to her. Maybe it’s less revenge and more a story of integrity

  13. Yikes! I would never have enough courage to do that!!

Leave a Reply

