MY THOUGHTS ON THE SUBJECT ARE AS FOLLOWS

My truth. My life.

overwhelming fear

Gasping for air with the unexpected jolt of being forced awake made me realize that I wasnt sure how long I had been holding my breath.  I had the overwhelming urge to jump out of bed and run, but something was telling me that moving would be dangerous.

 

I kept my eyes closed while trying to peek out of the tiny slits on the bottom.  I could feel someone there.  He was breathing heavily and standing directly over me.  Scared doesn’t even begin to describe the terror overwhelming every part of my being.  I knew that whatever sinister thing he had planned for me was about to happen.

 

If I was going to do anything to defend myself, now was the time.  I mustered up every ounce of energy and courage I could.  I jumped out of bed hitting, yelling and kicking.    It took me a moment to realize that there was no one there for me to attack.

 

I was fighting a memory.  One that would haunt me forever.

 

 


This was done for Trifecta writing challenge :

This week’s word is:
SINISTER

1 archaic : unfavorable, unlucky 2 archaic : fraudulent 3: singularly evil or productive of evil

Please remember:
  • Your response must be between 33 and 333 words.
  • You must use the 3rd definition of the given word in your post.
  • The word itself needs to be included in your response.
  • You may not use a variation of the word; it needs to be exactly as stated above.
  • Only one entry per writer.

This week’s word is sinister.

Single Post Navigation

32 thoughts on “overwhelming fear

  1. Strong Deana and a little unnerving.

  2. I squirmed when I read it. It’s intimate and dark. I like both of those. Great 333

  3. Great job with the challenge. 🙂

    x
    Becca

  4. Hey great thriller, I feel bad for her. Hopefully one day she can fight past it. Good work D…

  5. Ooooh…creepy! Loved the scene setting. We sort of wrote about similar things, but I like yours better!

  6. Wow, rock solid story. Memories are the worst that way, you know?

  7. Fighting a haunting memory … terrific !!!

  8. that was intense. and the ending a nice twist.

  9. I got chills. Very intense.

  10. Dude, you are nailing these!

    Any basis in reality for this one?

  11. A sinister memory stays with us forever, and causes sinister nightmares. Great take on the word. I felt the fear while reading. Nicely done.

  12. That memory must be vivid and horrific to play out so realistically. Well done.

  13. Great tension, surprise relief/reprieve. Nicely done.

  14. You depicted her fear so well. I really like the line about fighting a memory.

  15. great twist to the tale! wonderful take on the prompt!

Leave a Reply

