MY THOUGHTS ON THE SUBJECT ARE AS FOLLOWS

My truth. My life.

thankful wishes

I wished to see my daughter:

Say her first word, Take her first step, be happy.

The price I paid for my wishes:

She became a strong young woman who thrives without me.

This was done for Weekend Trifecta

On to the weekend challenge.  The Monkey’s
Paw
, a short story by W.W. Jacobs, is about the strings that come with
granted wishes.  We are asking you to write 33 words exactly about three wishes
that come at a high price to the wisher.

Single Post Navigation

33 thoughts on “thankful wishes

  1. just beautiful deana.

  2. Tom MacInnes (Cobbie's World) on said:

    Whether you are a Mom or a Dad, you want to be there for all the childhood milestones and then, be there to let them go off into the world. Much joy and poignant moments there in those 33 words. Superbly done!

    • Thanks Tom. Luckily I was there for all of the firsts. Now she is a junior in High school and we are preparing for more first. My heart aches as it overflows with pride. Thanks for reading.

  3. Wonderful that you’ve given her wings . . . so she can FLY!

  4. unevenstevencu on said:

    yea! i guess that’s how you know you did your job well – so important to let go

  5. You should give yourself more credit. her independence and brilliance is mostly from you….and some from me.

    I love that picture.

  6. Awwwwwwwwww … that’s so lovely. Congrats to you, and condolences in time passing so fast, right?

  7. What a beautiful daughter! She must make you proud, even as you mourn a little for the small child she used to be. This was an inspired use of the prompt.

  8. I love what you wrote.

  9. What a lovely price to pay.

  10. It has been a few years since I was experiencing this but I choked up a little. This was perfectly expressed.

  11. This one really hit home. The weirdness of parenting… sometimes when they need you the least it means you’ve done something right.

  12. I have one that I taught to be just like that. She will be 22 next month! And I’m very thankful for her strength, self-sufficiency and smarts as she soon begins life on her own! Good job with your girl! AND fantastic picture.

  13. I read this yesterday and meant to comment. My mother and I were talking about this very thing the other day. That the whole point of parenthood is to raise them to leave. To love them enough to teach them self-confidence and independence so they do not need you to hold their hand forever. And that the one thing that makes a parent the proudest is to see their child transform into a successful, independent, happy adult. Watching my oldest get excited about life is such a beautiful and bitter sweet thing. He loves his girl, getting ready for college, applying for jobs…. sigh….

  14. I don’t have a daughter, but I can relate, as I feel the same way with my sons. It’s an odd mixture of pride and sadness when they show signs of growing up (and away.)

  15. Wow! There is nothing about this piece I don’t love – the construction, the payoff, the sentiment.
    Fantastic!

  16. That’s fantastic, lady. Beautiful. I hope you let her read it. Well done.

Leave a Reply

