MY THOUGHTS ON THE SUBJECT ARE AS FOLLOWS

My truth. My life.

memory loss

As I get older my memory fades.

The worst part is remembering names.

I have three daughters and they all laugh at me.

I should have named them Child one, two and three.

 

 

The Rule of Three is a writing principle that asserts that, in writing, groups of three have the most impact. This week’s challenge is to write 33 words using the Rule of Threesomewhere among them.Β  It is up to you to interpret the rule, just make sure to use exactly 33 words.

This weekend’s challenge is community-judged.
  • For the 12 hours following the close of the challenge, voting will be enabled on links.
  • In order to vote, return to this postwhere stars will appear next to each link.Β  To vote, simply click the star that corresponds with your favorite post.
  • You can vote for your top threefavorite posts.
  • Voting is open to everyone. Encourage your friends to vote for you, if you wish, but please don’t tell them to vote on a number. The numbering of the posts changes regularly, as authors have the ability to delete their own links at any time.
  • You have 12 hours to vote.Β  It’s not much time, so be diligent! We’ll send out reminders on Twitter and Facebook.
Single Post Navigation

40 thoughts on “memory loss

  1. That’s great! My grandmother is like that (I am not assuming ANYTHING about your age, just saying!) and when she wants to get my attention, it usually sounds like “Pat, Chen, Kayla, ah damnit, CHENEY!” Ha!

  2. Nah. Mrs. McCave and George Forman had it right. You’d get them mixed up still. There’s some genetic reason (something about how our kids are all stored in the same region of the brain or something) for why we can’t keep them straight.

  3. Quite Seuss-ian!

  4. Ha ha … I loved the idea about naming children πŸ˜‰

  5. It happens. Don’t pick on yourself. Or, well, at least I won’t … as I’m afflicted with the same problem. And I have a boy, a girl and a CAT!

  6. I went through my childhood being called “BethJoAmy!!!” My brain is like a steel sieve… it leaks info constantly. You’re not alone! Very nicely done for the Trifecta prompt. Peace, Amy
    http://sharplittlepencil.com/2012/09/14/black-sheep-a-tale-of-three-sisters/

  7. debseeman on said:

    Your meter reminds me of Suess and for me, that’s a good thing πŸ™‚

  8. i call them Hey you, what’s your name, and whatever

    i love that picture. They look like babies there.

  9. Hahaha! I’d still mess it up. I have two sons, so I just call them “son”. When they ask which one, I point and say “you”. Eliminates the name problem πŸ™‚

  10. This made me laugh–my grandmother had eleven children, and I could picture her trying to remember what number they were instead of their names!

  11. This really made me laugh. I was AngVicJeanna to my mother when I was growing up.

  12. Haha! Very nicely done both on the challenge and the kids! πŸ˜€

  13. I spent this last week with my mother and I can’t tell you how many times she called me her sister’s name. I’m expecting it to come to me in time too — runs in the family!

  14. I was also reminded of Dr. Seuss. But you could just as easily mix the numbers up too! At age 35, it’s not memory loss, but with three kids, it could be PTSD!

  15. So true… I think the rhyming was great too!

  16. i have three boys… i sometimes get so befuddled calling each one the wrong name that i just call out and point at them – You! Come!
    I like 1, 2 and 3 but they’d fight over who gets 1, thinking they won. πŸ˜‰
    what’s this numbers thing?

  17. Ha! I have one daughter and a dog and I can’t even get their names straight half the time.

  18. haha, that’s so my parents, the worst is when they use one of my brother’s names to refer to me πŸ˜„

  19. With two boys, it’s usually just “Dude” or “Kiddo” in our house. πŸ™‚

  20. You are not old enough yet, Deana. Just wait! You could shave their birth order on their heads like that lady in the news. I goof up with my kids names all the time, Matt I mean Amanda…whoever you are…. And mine are different genders. Oh well, mom’s nuts!

Leave a Reply

