MY THOUGHTS ON THE SUBJECT ARE AS FOLLOWS

My truth. My life.

The unwanted paramour

I could feel the walls closing in around me.

The morbid feeling of being lonely, was making it difficult to breathe.

Slowly, I am becoming a shell of my former self.

I find myself latching on to the unavailable.

They accuse me of being unbalanced, but they don’t see what I see.

He wants to love me, although it’s a secret. Even to him.

I will continue to watch from afar.

As radical as it might be.

I will read his ramblings, for I know they are for me.

I will write our story, in the hopes that he will remember.

As I lay here tonight , I welcome my dreams.

My dreams are the only hope I have left.

Note: This was don for trifecta challenge.  We had to use the third definition of the work radical.

RADICAL (adjective)

1
: of, relating to, or proceeding from a root: asa (1) : of or growing from the root of a plant <radical tubers>(2) : growing from the base of a stem, from a rootlike stem, or from a stem that does not rise above the ground <radicalleaves>b : of, relating to, or constituting a linguistic rootc : of or relating to a mathematical rootd : designed to remove the root of a disease or all diseased and potentially diseased tissue <radical surgery> <radicalmastectomy>
2
: of or relating to the origin : fundamental
Single Post Navigation

33 thoughts on “The unwanted paramour

  1. favorite line: “I find myself latching on to the unavailable.”

    love how you used the word. wonderful, baby

  2. Very well written …. loved it 🙂

  3. Unsettling! I think the line that got me the most was “I will write our story, in the hopes that he will remember.”

  4. very well written all around. i liked this line: “He wants to love me, although it’s a secret. Even to him.” it says it all.

  5. This is eerie but lovely. Beautifully written.

  6. Scary and powerful. Very well done.

  7. Oh this is really good. You’ve captured the “crazy” very effectively! 😀

  8. Very nice, well maybe not for the guy…I’m thinking fatal attraction here. Hope he locks his doors 🙂

  9. That was some creepy good writing!

  10. Wow! I love this sort of thing! Perhaps because I am just the tiniest bit obsessive myself. Not anywhere near this degree, but it fascinates me. And this stunning poem really touches at the heart of obsession. It explores the loneliness and insecurity going on inside this person. ‘They don’t see what I see’.
    They never do …

  11. Wow! I love this! I always like this sort of thing, perhaps because I am the tiniest bit obsessive myself. Nowhere near this degree, but I do find the whole subject fascinating. And this stunning poem cuts right to the heart of obsession, laying bare the loneliness and insecurities that lead to the little fantasy this person has built. ‘They don’t see what I see’.
    No. They never do …

  12. To me it screamed of despair and self-delusion. I love venturing to the dark side of things and people. I liked it. Nice work.

  13. I love “i will continue to watch from afar / as radical as it might be” I love the use of radical 🙂 great write !

  14. Wow! This is pretty close to what a stalker might think/feel about the object of their affections. Very radical to go there!

  15. That was intense. I liked the glimpse into obsession. Thanks for playing along. Be sure to come back soon.

  16. Her ache is so palpable. 🙂

  17. Nice! I recalled a short story “The Yellow Wallpaper” not as a comparison of your writing, but the subtle intensity that I see here. Great job!

Leave a Reply

