MY THOUGHTS ON THE SUBJECT ARE AS FOLLOWS

My truth. My life.

The first competition


Scared and  trembling, the time drew near.

I watched her scan the crowd looking for me.

I knew that once she had found me, her heart would race a little less.

The pride that I felt at that moment exceeded anything I had felt before.

Watching the other teams compete, I felt nervous.

I knew her team was better than the others, she didn’t.

The announcer came on and announced “Lanier Longhorns, step up to the mat”

Her face turned pale, and my stomach turned.

It was her turn.

My baby girl flew through to air for the first time.

 

Note-  This was done for www.velvetverbosity.com #100word challenge.  The word is FLEW.

Single Post Navigation

13 thoughts on “The first competition

  1. This is great!
    They all fly away soon, and you’re proud of her, wherever she ends up.
    Really, I can’t say enough about how good this is. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Such an exhilerating experience 🙂 i bet she did fabulously

  3. Wow … a lovely journey … I am sure she emerged as the best 🙂

  4. You can feel the pride in this piece. Tay has a great cheerleader in you.

  5. I used to be her. We are the lucky ones who have moms to find in the crowd. I wasn’t a cheerleader, but I’ve played way too many solos to count, front and center trumpet player, and I looked for my momma every time. It wouldn’t have mattered if Louis Armstrong had been in the audience, I’d have still looked for my mother.

  6. Yikes! I’m not sure I could’ve watched. But I would have, of course.

Leave a Reply

