MY THOUGHTS ON THE SUBJECT ARE AS FOLLOWS

My truth. My life.

Who would have thought?

Think back:

Kid: I want more candy?

Mom: It will make you sick

Kid: How do you know?

Mom: I know everything.

She was right.

When I was a child that answer made me upset.

As a teenager, it angered me.

As a young adult, I could understand a little bit.

As a mom, I know everything.

Note: This was written for “Ketchup with us”. This is Challenge number one. We were supposed to write advice given to us by someone older or someone we looked up to in 57 words or less.

Ketchup With Us

Single Post Navigation

22 thoughts on “Who would have thought?

  1. Drove me nuts too when I heard it as a kid/teen. But I soooo get it now of course and it’s TRUE! Fun challenge. I’ll look forward to reading more!

  2. This is perfect and so true. Well done! Thanks so much for linking up!

  3. Time certainly does change our perspective and thankfully so!

  4. This sounds like an everyday conversation with my 5 yo. Love it! It’s fun being the mommy that knows everything….for now anyways.

  5. I love the evolution through the different stages of adjustment to the phrase. I’m afraid I let mine get sick once or twice. Now, I can say, “do you remember when you blorked all over Aunt Holly’s couch and couldn’t eat dessert at Christmas?”

  6. I love these little life lessons. It reminds me of the old adage “The older I get the more I realize the less I know.”

    Thanks for linking up!

  7. I swore I’d never say “Because I told you so.” I have said “Because I told you so.” Your post is absolutely perfect.
    I am visiting from the Ketchup Link up.

  8. A good one to remember on Halloween when I am tempted to raid each child’s bag of candy for Snickers bars.

  9. Great take! We can all relate to this one! Sometimes ‘just because’ should be enough of a reason!

  10. Ironically my tolerance for candy was higher back then! Sometimes I come across a childhood favorite and indulge myself – yeah it doesn’t go down as well as it used to!

  11. I enjoy dialogue pieces and this ranks up there with some of my favorites…….. but what do I know? I’m only a grandpa.

Leave a Reply

