MY THOUGHTS ON THE SUBJECT ARE AS FOLLOWS

My truth. My life.

Broken Reflection

You stand and look at everyone with eyes of innocence.

I can see the deceit seeping through.

With everything you say and everything you do

You continue to cripple my soul.

I wish that you could see what you’re doing.

Each and every day you degrade me.

It’s inside you, its in your ways.

You act like it’s so normal,

the way you break me. scream at me, and put me down.

When I try to talk to you about it,

you tell me how I’m to blame.

Then you turn to the world,

and put on your mask.

They see the loving man who you pretend to be.
Does it make you proud to

make me feel worthless and alone?

Did you know your part of the reason

That my insides are starting to die?

That you are responsible for these tear stains on my face?

My hope is non-existent.

The absence of my laughter is frightening.

I can’t bear to look at myself.

You have broken my reflection.

Writers note: I wrote this after reading this aritcle on domestic violence. I hope this helps bring awareness.

http://www.helpguide.org/mental/domestic_violence_abuse_types_signs_causes_effects.htm

(you have to cut and paste the link to the article.)

This is also done for Trifecta.  This was our challenge this week.:

Your response must be between 33 and 333 words.

You must use the 3rd definition of the given word in your post.

The word itself needs to be included in your response.

You may not use a variation of the word; it needs to be exactly as stated above.

Only one entry per writer.

This week’s word is absence.

Single Post Navigation

25 thoughts on “Broken Reflection

  1. I’d hoped this wasn’t coming from personal experience. I have known people involved in abusive relationships and it is frightening how the victim is paralyzed in mind and body – essentially trapped because they believe there is no way out.

  2. Well written and touching. I hope this enjoys wide circulation. Domestic violence is very debilitating and deserves more awareness. Then maybe we could wipe out the threat.

  3. Thank you for sharing this 🙂 It really does show the suffering of those at the hands of domestic abuse… maybe you could make a flyer or a poster out of it 😀 That would be a fantastic way to increase the awareness of domestic violence 😀 Great post!

  4. Very powerful. So sad that too many women, and men, are in this situation and feel helpless to leave.

  5. I love the idea of having broken her reflection; that says so much. I’m going to be thinking about that one for a while, I can tell.

  6. Boy, this pretty cuts to the bone! It just lays bare all of the pent up feelings. Very well written.

  7. Excellent piece, and I’m glad that it’s not based on personal experience.

  8. I think it is often like this. I was in one of these relationships once, many years ago, and it was like you describe.

  9. Tough subject to write on and very well-written. Love your last line.

  10. I helped my childhood best friend secretly move out of her Malibu mansion while her mother served her sorry excuse of a man/husband (prominent attorney) divorce papers. We slept her first night on the floor of her new apartment, shaking. She found the strength to get away from the ugliness of mental abuse and devastation of the physical. Very powerful post and very well written.

  11. this was so sad and yet very powerful. the idea of a broken reflection really spoke well for this piece. this line really stood out to me: “The absence of my laughter is frightening.”

  12. This was painful to read. I’ve worked with and known so many people affected by domestic violence and you captured that feeling of hopelessness.
    Thank you for sharing this with us. Please come on back and play with us again.

  13. The absence of laughter is such a painful one. My favorite line is the one about breaking her reflection.

  14. Oh how sad. “You have broken my reflection,” spoke to me. I am glad this isn’t a true story.

Leave a Reply

