MY THOUGHTS ON THE SUBJECT ARE AS FOLLOWS

My truth. My life.

Dear Man (yes you)

imagesCA2LDZ1J

 

Have you ever wanted to just get a few things off of your chest?  It’s very hard to do without facing the wrath of the person you are aiming your thoughts at.  However, today, I have an excuse.  That’s right!  You heard me correctly.  Not only do I have an excuse, but so do you!

One of the brilliant blogs that I follow is called  Mama’s losin’ it .  (click here for this weeks prompt)

She host’s a brilliant writing prompt called Mama Kat’s – pretty much world-famous writing workshop. (click here for rules and stuff)

She had given me the opportunity to write a letter called “Dear Men, (an open letter…offer a word of advice, an issue you’d like to address, or a solution to a problem for the opposite sex).”  Can you believe it?  I am jumping on this train!  There are other prompts she gives you to choose from that are pretty great too.  I just couldn’t pass this up.  So, that being said:

Lance,  If you choose to get mad, Please see the link’s above with any question’s, complaints or issues.

So here goes:

Dear men,

I have some advice for you.  This is not meant to upset you.  It is just meant to help you.  I want to help you because care and I want your day to be good.  So I ask that you listen.

1) When your wife says to you “Dear, would you like to sit down and plan out the events of tomorrow?”  You say “yes”.  Do not say “I have it under control, I can handle it.”  This will prevent you from driving 30 minutes to drop something off only to have one of your kids call and say “you promised to have me here at this time”.  It will also prevent your wife from getting a phone call at work with you saying “I underestimated to short amount of time I have this morning.  I am not going to be able to do something I had planned.”  Again, this could have been avoided by a quick conversation the night before.

2) When your wife sends you to the store for something do not buy something “similar” to the item on the list.  Look at what she wrote (exact wording)  and get that.  It is not the same thing.  Your wife would not buy you a 6 pack of wine cooler’s because the bottle is the same shape as the beer that you like.  (wife’s consider taking a picture of the product you want for your list.  This might help.)

3) When your wife ask’s you what you want to eat DO NOT say “I don’t care”  or “what ever you want dear”  From now on every time you say that your wife should fix something she know that you do not like.  Your wife knows that you have an opinion.  You give her your opinion on everything else.  Why don’t you just tell your wife what you want!

and last but not least…

4)  When your wife calls you answer the phone by saying this “Hello”  or “Hello Dear” or “Hey babe”  (do you see the theme?)  Do not answer like this… “hhhhhhhhhh(deep sigh)  YES DEAR (in exasperated voice)?  Your wife does not deserve that.  It doesn’t matter if there is really bad traffic, if you are writing, if you are working, or if you are dying for that matter.  A simple “Hello” will work.

I hope you will take all of these things into consideration to enhance your marriage.  You and your wife deserve it.

Love,

Bo

*************************************************

Mama’s Losin’ ItChoose a prompt, post it on your blog, and come back to add your name to the link list below. Be sure to sign up with the actual post URL and not just your basic blog URL (click on the title of your post for that URL). For good comment karma try to comment on the three blogs above your name!!

The Prompts:

1.) What are you reading? 2.) Dear Men, (an open letter…offer a word of advice, an issue you’d like to address, or a solution to a problem for the opposite sex). 3.) Show us your kitchen! 4.) Tell us about a time you were grounded…what did you do? 5.) What made you laugh this week?

Single Post Navigation

38 thoughts on “Dear Man (yes you)

  1. You are genius! Next time I go to the store I will just get my husband something similar to what he wants but not exactly what he wants and see how he likes it! (this is probably not what you intended, but seriously, why is it so hard for them to just get what we ask for??!!)

  2. LOL! Number three though, could definitely be done in reverse here. Hubs does a lot of cooking and can’t stand the, “I don’t know,” answer. Hmmm….maybe not in reverse, because I’m not fond of it either. Maybe that applicable to both sexes. :> Love number four!

  3. The winer coolers got me! I would love to see the reaction to that.
    This is sage advice that any man would do well to follow!

  4. The wine cooler thing is hilarious. My husband now goes over my list with me (if he’s going to the store and because I have messy handwriting) so we don’t have that happen. But guess what? It still does. Also, he’ll call me then get immediately flustered by busyness and say, “now what did you need?” “You called ME pal!”

    • That is too funny. I have taken a picture of shampoo and conditioner before, wrote exactly what the 2 different products were and he still brought home some 2 in 1 crap. ughh. lol

  5. My husband totally wouldn’t be able to handle everything I do in the mornings! Great letter!

  6. Oh my goodness! The phone thing and yes, the dinner thing. When we stop somewhere and I say. “Can I get you something?” And he says, “Surprise me.”, I usually buy him the fish sandwich or something gross on the menu. Yep. I’m a twit. :)

    You made me laugh and want to toast you w/ a wine cooler! Xo

  7. Really good advice on all counts..Diane

  8. Pingback: Because, my friends, I’m nothing if not rational and there’s little I love more that teaching a good lesson. | The Bonny Bard

  9. My husband usually answers the phone either in silence (causing me to ask if he is there) or says Yeyess. I will have to give him your prompt for reference.

  10. This is great advice. Especially #4. Especially if that call takes place at the time when your husband has specifically asked you to call, even though it is in the middle of the busy part of her day. (I’m not bitter about this at all)

  11. Your letter makes me wish I’d written this prompt. I sent my husband to the grocery store once to get a green chile and he came back with a can of Hormel chili. A for effort, but he was sent back right away.

  12. after the way you left the kitchen last night/this morning, it takes a lot of balls to write this…..paybacks are a beeyotch

  13. haha Love it, especially the way you answer the phone and the store. My husband learned that very early in the marriage.

  14. Yes, yes, Yes! May I add for #4… also don’t ask “is this important?” Cuz if it was, it sure ain’t now.

    Sometimes, if I get that tired response, I take it as a dare. I counter with “say my name, if no one is around you, say ‘baby, I love you’,” in my best Beyonce voice. Or, I ask, “so, whaddya wearing?” I may not get an answer, but it throws him off enough to get my point across.

  15. Hilarious! Now I know why she divorced me! Dark humour there..but not meant to be…I just recognised the shopper in me, and the one who can ‘handle everything’…heehee…! The shopping was, it was said, because I was just a dreamer..the other..yes..we always know best..or think we do…

  16. Ah yes… men! They can be such simple creatures at times – they really do need certain things spelled out in black and white, so there is no room for confusion ;)

  17. whisperingwriter on said:

    I enjoyed reading this. I don’t send my husband to buy stuff anymore. It’s much easier for me to do it myself. Otherwise he comes home with something completely different along with things that he thought looked “cool.”

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,436 other followers

