MY THOUGHTS ON THE SUBJECT ARE AS FOLLOWS

My truth. My life.

Well, maybe not

imagesCA694K3Q

After what seemed like days of drifting in and out of consciousness I felt my eyes slowly begin to open.  I could hear Jeff talking on the phone.  He seemed irritated about something.

“Kelsie, I told you that I wasn’t going to be able to make dinner tonight.  Works being a bitch and they scheduled that engineering meeting that’s going to run late.  Ok.  love you too. “

He turned and started to walk in my direction.  He was still a little blurry, but I could make out a worried expression on his face.

**

“Jeff?”  The evening nurse called for his attention.  “I’m not the type that usually gets involved it my patients lives, but don’t you think you should tell her the truth?

“What?” Jeff responded in a shaken voice.  That “I just got caught” kind of voice.

“I overheard you on the phone with your girlfriend.  You have been putting her off for days.”

“I know, I know.  I just can’t stand to leave her side.  I want to be here when she wakes up.”

“I get it.” The nurse shook his head agreement. “How’s our patient doing today?”

**

About the time they started walking over to me, I closed my eyes.  I was confused.  I wasnt sure what this meant.  Jeff has been with me since the accident, Why?  Could he possibly still have feelings for me?  I laid very still and let the nurse take my vitals.  I needed just a little while longer to figure out what was going on.  Then, I would open my eyes.

***********************************************************************************

If you want to read more of this story, start here:  NervesPull yourself togetherCrossing the streetWaking up

This was done for trifecta:

This week’s word is:
BITCH (noun)

1: the female of the dog or some other carnivorous mammals 2 a : a lewd or immoral woman    b : a malicious, spiteful, or overbearing woman —sometimes used as a generalized term of abuse 3: something that is extremely difficult, objectionable, or unpleasant
Please remember:
  • Your response must be between 33 and 333 words.
  • You must use the 3rd definition of the given word in your post.
  • The word itself needs to be included in your response.
  • You may not use a variation of the word; it needs to be exactly as stated above.
  • Only one entry per writer.
  • Trifecta is open to everyone.  Please join us.

Single Post Navigation

50 thoughts on “Well, maybe not

  1. Jeff! You cad! This just gets better and better! Well done!

  2. Oooh, Jeff; beware those emotional entanglements! They’ll have you eating some humble pie, or maybe some prized pepperoni pizza…

  3. well, he stuck around after the accident. I like the natural voice Jeff uses. This is really well written. He’s definitely making for more chapters you need to write…NOW

  4. So many twists and turns… loving it.

  5. Jeff better watch out, he is headed for dangerous territory. I am really enjoying this tale you are weaving. :)

  6. getting deeper, aren’t ya, there, Jeff? Oh, well done, Deana. Well done!

  7. Whoa there! It’s getting intense and I like that heart-wrenching feeling I’m getting! Great post!

  8. Jeff! I think she should keep her eyes closed as long as possible. Just think about all the stuff she’ll find out! Excellent Excellent premise Deanabo and really well done! :D

  9. Oh,oh,someone is asking for trouble here-Jeff,you have no idea that the nurse was not the only one to hear you-you are going to get it now!

    Love the way you are drawing the readers in Deana-great characters being built here-looking forward to the next,eagerly:-)

  10. I’m really enjoying this. :-)

  11. jwilliams057 on said:

    Hmmmm. I hope she figures it out soon. I bet it is hard to fake a coma for very long.

  12. Gripping. I’d fake it for as long as I could…

  13. I’m definitely on the keep-your-eyes-shut team. She’ll want all the info she can get.

  14. ahh, that hurt. well done, Deana

  15. This story is getting more and more intriguing. Jeff might find himself in a bit of a bind when Kelsie finds out. Great build up of tension and conflict. I want to know how it plays out. I’ll stay tuned!

  16. Oh, the tangled web we weave……………a classic storyline being expertly revealed.

  17. Well, as if she didn’t already have a headache from waking from the coma, it’s going to get worse as she tries figuring this mess out! Poor Kelsie, but I’m hoping for a happy ending for Veda! (Which hopefully includes minimal injuries aside from the concussion).
    Impatiently waiting…

  18. Nice way to build the intrigue! Ill be waiting for the next chapter.

  19. Nice continuation of the story – the plot thickens, indeed! The way she sort of willfully stays out of the world in the last paragraph was interesting, a nice commentary on her character. Good job!

  20. Draug419 on said:

    Those lies are going to come back around and bite him…

  21. Oh, I like the idea of having some time to figure things out. Maybe a little bit of “coma” is good for us every now and then. Nice work, Deana.

  22. Oh, boy. Jeff’s in trouble now.

  23. Yikes! He’s in a pickle me thinks! I enjoy this very much. Keep it going so we can discover more.

  24. That is certainly a lot for her to process, in her condition. It’s good for her to take it slow! This is good stuff–keep it up, please!

  25. debseeman on said:

    You write conflict so well. This is a great piece.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,467 other followers

